Raipur: Counting of votes for Chhattisgarh Assembly Election will start at 8 am and results are likely to emerge by 9 am. The voting was held in two phases in the state. Security has been beefed up in the state. In the first phase, 18 Assembly constituencies that come under 12 districts of Maoist-affected South Chhattisgarh went to polls on November 12, while in phase 2, voting was held in 72 constituencies of remaining 78 districts of North Chhattisgarh on November 20.Also Read - Interest Rate To Pension: Here Are Major Changes In Bank Rules From December 1

According to the exit polls prediction for Chhattisgarh assembly, the majority mark is 46. While Times Now-CNX gave a simple majority to the BJP and ABP said the saffron party would fare way better than the Congress, India-Today Axis predicted that the Congress is set to end Chief Minister Raman Singh’s 15-year old reign by winning anywhere between 55-65 seats. Also Read - IND vs NZ: India Bowling Coach Paras Mhambrey Sheds Light on Ajinkya Rahane, Cheteshwar Pujara's Test Future

All the exit polls agreed that former chief minister Ajit Jogi’s Janta Congress Chhattisgarh and the BSP may get to play the kingmaker in case of a hung Assembly. Also Read - Gadar 2: Sunny Deol-Ameesha Patel Leave You Nostalgic as Tara Singh And Sakeena in Their First Look

Eyeing a fourth consecutive term, the BJP has set a target of winning 65 plus seats in the 72-member Assembly, while the Congress is seeking to end its 15-year exile from power in the tribal-dominated state.

For the first time, the state will see a three-way battle between the BJP, the Congress and the coalition between the Mayawati-led Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), former chief minister Ajit Jogi’s Janata Congress Chhattisgarh (J) and the Communist Party of India (CPI).

While Jogi is seen a kingmaker in the state where the vote share difference between the BJP and the Congress was less than one per cent in 2013, the former has denied possibilities of any post-poll alliance with the saffron party.

The BJP has retained state Assembly Speaker Gaurishankar Agrawal from the Kasdol seat, which he had won against Congress’ Rajkamal Singhaniya in the 2013 elections.

Live Updates

  • 5:51 PM IST

    Chhattisgarh Assembly Election Results 2018 LIVE: “I take the responsibility for this defeat because the poll was contested under my leadership. We will act as a strong Opposition and work for the development of the state,” said Raman Singh.

  • 5:50 PM IST

    Chhattisgarh Assembly Election Results 2018 LIVE: “We respect the mandate that the public has given. I congratulate Congress on this success. I consider it my luck to serve the public of Chhattisgarh for the last 15 years,” said Raman Singh

  • 5:49 PM IST

  • 4:05 PM IST

  • 3:29 PM IST

    Chhattisgarh Assembly Election Results 2018 LIVE: BJP minister Ajay Chandrakar was also leading over Laxmikanta Sahu of the Congress in Kurud seat, as per the latest trends.

  • 3:29 PM IST

    Chhattisgarh Assembly Election Results 2018 LIVE: State minister Rajesh Munat was behind Congress’ Vikas Upadhyay in Raipur City West Assembly seat, Amar Agarwal was trailing behind Shailesh Pande of the Congress in Bilaspur segment, while Brij Mohan Agarwal was behind Congress’ Kanhaiyya Agrawal in Raipur city south segment.

  • 3:21 PM IST

    Chhattisgarh Assembly Election Results 2018 LIVE: Silence engulfs the BJP headquarters in Raipur as BJP continues to lead on mere 16 seats against Congress, which currently leads on 66 seats.

  • 3:15 PM IST

    Chhattisgarh Assembly Election Results 2018 LIVE: One CRPF jawan injured in an IED blast in Chintagupha, Sukma. Further details awaited.

  • 2:31 PM IST

  • 2:16 PM IST