New Delhi: As many as nine Congress MLAs, including a woman legislator, on Tuesday took oath as ministers in the Chhattisgarh cabinet formation. Governor Anandiben Patel administered the oath to the new ministers at the Police Parade Ground in Raipur.  The ministers took oath in Hindi.

Among the ministers who sworn in included the nine ministers are Ravindra Chaubey, Rudra Guru, Kawasi Lakhma, Premsai Singh, Mohammad Akbar, Shiv Daheriya, Umesh Patel, Anila Bhediya and Jai Singh Agarwal.

Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel had said that the party has focused on the region-wise and community representation. Important leaders are covered keeping in mind next year’s general election.

TS Singh Deo and Tamradhwaj Sahu had taken oath as ministers on December 17 when Baghel was sworn in as chief minister.   Baghel, along with state leaders of his party, met Congress chief Rahul Gandhi in Delhi on Saturday and finalised names of ministers, a party leader had said on Sunday.

The Chhattisgarh cabinet can have 13 ministers at most, including the chief minister. The state has 90 assembly seats. However, the choice of a minister from Scheduled Caste (SC) community would be between State Congress Working President Shiv Kumar Daharia and Rudra Guru, they said.

Congress registered a landslide victory in recently-held Chhattisgarh assembly elections by bagging 68 seats in 90 member assembly. The BJP, which was in power in the state since 2003, won only 15 seats.

(With PTI inputs)