The Congress appeared all set to shatter BJP leader Raman Singh’s dream of a consecutive fourth term as Chhattisgarh chief minister, as per early trends for the state Assembly elections. Congress was leading in 66 seats, while the ruling BJP was a distant second at 14.Also Read - Nitin Gadkari on BJP's Assembly Election Debacle: Success Has Many Fathers, Failure is an Orphan

Trends for all the 90 seats where polling was held in two phases, are available now. Also Read - Assembly Elections 2018: Congress Chief Ministers to Discuss Cabinet With Party Chief Rahul Gandhi

Congress, which has 39 legislators in the outgoing House where BJP has 10 more – appeared to have gotten its act together in the tribal-dominated state. Also Read - Assembly Election Results Not in BJP's Favour, But Cannot be Linked With 2019 Lok Sabha Polls: Amit Shah

Click Here For Live Updates on Chhattisgarh Assembly Election Results

The Janata Congress Chhattisgarh (J) of former chief minister Ajit Jogi was ahead in five seats while the CPI and the Gondwana Gantantra Party and the CPI (M) were leading in one seat each, the official said.

Five ministers in the BJP government – Brijmohan Agrawal (Raipur City South), Kedar Kashyap (Narayanpur constituency), Mahesh Gagda (Bijapur), Dayaldas Baghel (Nawagarh) and Amar Agrawal (Bilaspur) – were trailing.

However, state presidents of the BJP and the Congress – Dharamlal Kaushik and Bhupesh Baghel – were leading in Bilha and Patan seats respectively.

Click Here For Live Updates Assembly Election Results 2018

Leader of Opposition T S Singhdeo and Congress MP from Durg Lok Sabha seat Tamradhwaj Sau were leading in Ambikapur and Durg Rural seats, respectively.

Ajit Jogi was leading in Marwahi seat while his wife Renu Jogi was ahead in Kota constituency, the official said.

Counting for all the 90 seats started at 8 am. The counting of postal ballots was first taken up followed by counting of votes from the Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs).

The state had recorded 76.60 per cent voter turnout.

The Congress is aiming to stage a comeback after being in the opposition for 15 years.

Following is the party-wise position in the outgoing Assembly: BJP-49, Congress-39, BSP-one and Independent-one.