Bijapur: Four Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) jawans were martyred in a Naxal attack in Bijapur district of poll-bound Chhattisgarh on Saturday. Two others are reported to be injured. They have been evacuated and taken to Raipur.

The incident occurred around 4 PM near Murdanda camp of the CRPF under Awapalli police station, when its 168th battalion was out on “area domination” operation, Bijapur Superintendent of Police Mohit Garg said.

The Naxals reportedly blew up a mine-protected-vehicle (MPV) of 168th battalion of CRPF jawans who were on road opening duty, when it was around one km away from the camp. Four jawans – one ASI, one head-constable, two constables -died on the spot while, two others were injured, P Sundar Raj, DIG (Anti-Naxal Operation), informed.

“Four Central Reserve Police Force personnel (one ASI, one head-constable, two constables of 168 battalion) lost their lives in an IED blast in Awapalli Police Station area (Bijapur). 2 injured jawans sent for medical treatment,” the DIG told reporters.

The attack took place on a day when Chief Minister Raman Singh launched the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) campaign for the first phase of polls on November 12 in neighbouring Sukma district.

Chhattisgarh Assembly Election 2019 is scheduled to be held in the two phases on November 12 and November 20. The first phase of election will cover 18 constituencies in eight Naxal-affected districts – Bastar, Kanker, Sukma, Bijapur, Dantewada, Narayanpur, Kondagaon and Rajnandgaon. Naxals had recently put up posters in parts of Bastar region calling for boycott of the polls.

The counting of votes and results will be announced on December 11. The tenure of 90-member Chhattisgarh Assembly ends on January 5, 2019.