New Delhi: As the coronavirus cases in the country crossed 300 with fresh cases being reported from Bihar and Madhya Pradesh, a number of state governments have on Sunday announced to impose complete lockdown in their states as part of the preventive measures. Also Read - Janata Curfew: People Come Out to Balconies Clapping, Clanging Thaalis to Thank Emergency Workers | WATCH

The development comes after the Union Health Ministry on Sunday urged the states to make arrangements to deal with increasing number of coronavirus cases and take care of the poor. Also Read - Janata Curfew: Netizens Flood Internet With Videos of Them Clapping Hands, Ringing Bells to Show Gratitude

Addressing a press conference, Lav Agarwal, Joint Secretary, Health Ministry, said the Centre at a meeting with states told them to allow only essential services in 75 districts and stop all the non-essential services. Also Read - Janata Curfew: Host of Ministers, Political Leaders Clap Hands, Express Gratitude to Medical Workers

Here is a list of states which have, as part of the preventive measure, announced lockdown and asked people to cooperate with the government to fight the coronavirus.


Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal on Sunday said that the state administration has decided to impose lockdown in Delhi from 6 AM on March 23 to 12 midnight of March 31.

He said that the grocery stores, bakery, hospital, medical store, petrol pump and other establishments providing essential service will continue to function during the lockdown period in Delhi.

“During the lockdown in Delhi, no document or proof will be sought from a person if they say that they are out on streets to provide or avail any essential service,” Kejriwal said.’


Issuing a statement, the Karnataka government said that restrictions will be imposed in territorial jurisdiction of the districts of Bangalore Urban, Bangalore Rural, Kalaburagi, Chikkaballapur, Mysuru, Madikeri, Dharwad, Mangaluru and Belagavi from March 23 till April 1.


Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao on Sunday declared lockdown till March 31 in the state, under the Epidemic Diseases Act, 1897 as a precautionary measure against the coronavirus pandemic.


Haryana CM Manohar Lal Khattar on Sunday said that the lockdown will be imposed in 7 districts of the state till March 31. The districts where the lockdown will be imposed included  — Faridabad, Gurugram, Rohtak, Jhajjar, Sonipat, Panipat and Panchkula.


The Chandigarh administration on Sunday put the Union Territory and joint capital of Punjab and Haryana under lockdown till March 31 and suspended all non-essential services as well inter- and intra-city public transports from midnight to curb the coronavirus spread.

The restrictions under the lockdown will come into effect from Sunday midnight, an order issued by Chandigarh Administration under the provisions of the Epidemic Diseases Act, said. All shops, commercial establishments, offices and factories, workshops, godowns shall close their operations.

West Bengal

As part of the preventive measure, the West Bengal government has stopped the movement of all non-essential cargo items in the state from Sunday midnight till March 31. “No non-essential items carried in national permit- holding goods vehicles such as trucks and trailers will be allowed to enter the state from outside for the next nine days starting Sunday midnight,” the order issued by the state transport department said.


The Nagaland government has also announced an indefinite lockdown in the state from Sunday midnight in view of the coronavirus outbreak. Chief Secretary Temjen Toy said that though no positive coronavirus case has been reported in the state so far, the precautionary measure has been taken as per the Epidemic Diseases Act, 1897.

Uttar Pradesh

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath on Sunday said that 15 districts of the state would be under lockdown in the first phase till Wednesday. “Fifteen districts in the state will be locked down in the first phase from Monday,” Adityanath said. The districts where the lockdown has been enforced included Lucknow, Agra, Gautam Buddha Nagar, Ghaziabad, Varanasi, Allahabad, Kanpur, Aligarh, Moradabad, Lakhimpur Kheiri, Bareilly, Azamgarh, Meerut, Gorakhpur and Saharanpur.


The Uttarakhand government on Sunday decided to impose a lockdown in the state till March 31. During this period, inter-state bus services and public transport buses plying within the state will remain suspended. Chief Minister Trivendra Singh Rawat said that essential supplies such as medicines, food grains, vegetables will be available to people as they were kept out of the ambit of the lockdown.

Himachal Pradesh

All shops and business establishments except those selling essential items will remain closed in Himachal Pradesh’s Chamba district till March 31 to contain the spread of coronavirus. The shops selling essential items, petrol pumps, LGP gas agencies, banks and ATMs will be open.


Taking further precautions, the Goa government on Sunday extended ‘Janta Curfew’ in the state till March 25 in view of the novel coronavirus outbreak. The chief minister’s office said a detailed circular on this decision would be issued by the general administration department later in the evening. However, the essential services would remain out of the lockdown.