Congress candidate Vishwajeet P. Kadam was declared elected unopposed in the bypoll to the Maharashtra Assembly from Palus-Kadegaon in Sangli after the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) withdrew its candidate. Also Read - Maharashtra Assembly Election Results 2019: INC's Kadam Vishwajeet Patangrao Wins From Palus-Kadegaon by Margin of 1,62,521 Votes

The saffron party was forced to withdraw its candidate after the Shiv Sena announced its support to the Congress candidate. Also Read - Punjab cabinet hails Cong victory on Assembly seats

Kadam today took oath as a member of the Legislative Assembly. Also Read - Bypoll 2018: Counting of votes begin

Meanwhile, counting of votes is also taking place in Palghar and Bhandara-Gondiya Lok Sabha seats of Maharashtra. The Palghar bypoll was necessitated after the death of sitting BJP MP Chintaman Wanaga due to heart attack in January this year while in Bhandara-Gondiya the bypoll was necessitated after Nana Patole resigned as the BJP MP to return to the Congress.