New Delhi, Sep 11: The Congress on Friday announced a manifesto committee and a state election committee for the upcoming assembly polls in Bihar.(Also Read: Congress hits back at Narendra Modi: people will judge the dagabaaz)

The 11-member manifesto committee is headed by former state unit president Ram Jatan Sinha.The 19-member state election committee includes the party’s state unit chief Ashok Choudhary and former Lok Sabha speaker Meira Kumar.

The Congress is contesting 40 seats in alliance with the Janata Dal-United and the Rashtriya Janata Dal. The Election Commission has announced a five-phased election in Bihar starting from October 12.