New Delhi, Jun 1: Buoyed by the victory of combined opposition in Uttar Pradesh, Congress is likely to enter into a post-poll alliance with Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) for Assembly elections in Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh. As per reports, negotiations were underway between the two parties for a seat-sharing pact in all three poll-bound states. Congress may give 30 seats to BSP in Madhya Pradesh in the forthcoming Assembly elections, reports suggested.

Election results in Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh will be considered a barometer of the pulse of the public before the 2019 Lok Sabha polls. All three BJP-ruled states are facing anti-incumbency and Congress’s impressive performance in the Lok Sabha/Assembly bypolls and civic body elections has left the saffron party worried. The grand old party is gearing up for the crucial elections preceding the 2019 Lok Sabha polls and holding talks with like-minded parties.

The opposition parties contested bypoll together and wrested three Lok Sabha and one Assembly seats from the BJP in Uttar Pradesh. In the recently held bypolls, RLD candidate Tabassum Hasan defeated BJP’s Mriganka Singh in Kairana. Hasan was supported by SP, BSP, Congress and Nishad Party. Similarly, in Noorpur bypolls, SP candidate Naim Ul-Haq won against BJP’s Avnish Singh.

In Gorakhpur by-election, Samajwadi Party’s Praveen Kumar Nishad defeated BJP’s Upendra Dutt Shukla by 21,916 votes. Gorakhpur had been a BJP bastion with Uttar Pradesh chief minister Yogi Adityanath having represented the seat in Lok Sabha for a total of five terms. Not just Gorakhpur, the BJP also lost the Phulpur Lok Sabha seat which was represented by UP Deputy CM Keshav Prasad Maurya. The SP candidates were backed by BSP and other regional parties.