New Delhi: Reacting to the Bahujan Samaj Party tying up with Ajit Jogi’s JCC for the forthcoming Assembly elections in Chhattisgarh, Congress’ state in-charge PL Punia said on Thursday, “We had received a proposal from BSP for an alliance. The Congress will fight the elections independently and form the government in the state.” Also Read - Akali Dal Inks Poll Pact With Mayawati's BSP For Punjab Assembly Election 2022

The BSP’s decision is being seen as a setback for the Congress. The two parties had been in talks with each other for a few months but Mayawati was reportedly not happy with the number of seats it was being offered. The Congress was hoping an alliance with the BSP would help it win most of the 10 reserved assembly seats in the state. The BJP currently holds nine of them. With the BSP’s decision to ally with Jogi’s party, the elections will now see a three-cornered contest, said media reports. BSP chief Mayawati had, while addressing a press conference at her residence past Sunday, had said her party will be compelled to go it alone in the upcoming Lok Sabha polls if it did not get a “respectable” number of seats in the anti-BJP alliance. Also Read - Randeep Hooda Dropped as UN Ambassador After His Dirty Joke on Mayawati

Earlier in the day, addressing a press conference, Mayawati had said that the BSP will fight on 35 seats and Janta Congress Chhattisgarh will contest 55 seats for the assembly election. “Bahujan Samaj Party has decided to contest upcoming assembly polls in alliance with Janta Congress Chhattisgarh. The election for the 90 Assembly constituencies in Chhattisgarh is slated to be held later this year. Also Read - 'Arrest Randeep Hooda' Trends on Twitter After His 'Sexist & Casteist' Joke on Mayawati Goes Viral | Watch Video

The BJP has been ruling the state for 15 years with Raman Singh as the Chief Minister. Singh has already started a mass-contact programme to ensure his victory for the fourth time. The Congress lost to the BJP in the 2013 elections as it could secure only 39 assembly seats out of the 90. The ruling BJP got 49 seats and one each was won by the BSP and by an Independent candidate.