New Delhi: With the coronavirus pandemic showing no signs of abating, Delhi on Sunday announced a complete lockdown till March 31, joining a list of states that have announced a complete or partial lockdown as they battle the crisis. Also Read - 'Jaanta Curfew': Police Offer Flowers to People Out on Roads in Delhi, Request Them to Stay Indoors

The lockdown will come into effect from 6 AM on Monday and end on the midnight of March 31, the Delhi government announced today. Also Read - 'We Are Taking Some Rest', Tweets Delhi Metro As it Halts Services During Janata Curfew

The decision to impose the lockdown was announced by Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal and Lieutenant Governor Anil Baijal in a joint press conference. It also comes on a day the Centre announced a lockdown in 75 districts, from various states across the country, which have reported all of the country’s confirmed coronavirus cases, including seven deaths, thus far.

During the lockdown:

(1.) All domestic flights will be banned from landing at the capital’s Indira Gandhi International (IGI) Airport;

(2.) No public transport services including private buses, autos, e-rickshaws will be allowed during the lockdown period;

(3.) However, 25% of the Delhi Transport Corporations (DTC) buses will continue to ply those involved in essential services;

(4.) All private offices will be closed and employees-both permanent and contractual-will be considered to be on-duty; the companies will also have to pay salary to their employees for this duration;

(5.) Those out on the streets to purchase pr provide essential services will not be asked for any document or proof;

(6.) Hospitals, medical shops, groceries, petrol pumps, bakeries and other establishments providing essential services will continue to operate throughout the lockdown period

Chief Minister Kejriwal also announced that thus far, there have been 27 confirmed cases of coronavirus. Of these, while six contracted the infection through transmission, the remaining 21 were foreign returnees.