Jammu, Jan 27 (PTI) The Jammu and Kashmir government has conferred state awards on 31 persons, including Executive Editor of Daily Excelsior Neeraj Rohmetra and Kashmiri writer and poet G N Aatish, for their contribution in different fields.

Neeraj Rohmetra, Executive Editor, Daily Excelsior, was today awarded prestigious State Award under the category Outstanding Media Persons a day after the Republic Day.

The Award carries a cash price of Rs 51,000, gold medal and a citation.

Neeraj Rohmetra, a post graduate in Business Administration from Lancaster University, England, and Diploma in Journalism and News Writing from London School of Journalism, has distinguished career of 20 years in journalism, having done a series of breaking news stories.

He has been writing articles for many newspapers across the globe.

Kashmiri writer and poet, G N Aatish and writer Nirmal Kumar Gupta, who goes by his pen name Nirmal Vinod, have been accorded the State Award for achievement in the field of literature.

Mipham Otsal (theatre), singers Jeevan Sharma, Mehmeet Syed and Dhanajay Koul have been accorded the Award for performing arts.

Heritage conservationist, Saleem Beg, has been accorded State Life Time Achievement Award.

Muhammad Maqbool Jan (papier-m ch ) has been awarded for excellence in arts and crafts.

Educationist Sabbah Hajji has been awarded for excellence in social reforms and empowerment.

IAS officer Mandeep Kumar Bhandari, eye specialist Dr S Natrajan and ophthalmologist Dr Tariq Qureshi have been accorded the State Award for meritorious public service.

Surya Bhanu Partap Singh (wushu), Tajamul Islam (kick boxing), Hashim Manzoor (karate), Akbar Khan (cycling), Ishfaq Hussain Kand (kayaking and canoeing), Meenal Gupta (chess), Nipu Jamwal (judo), and Tsering Angmo, Rigzin Dolkar and Stanzin Laskit (mountaineering) have been accorded state award under outstanding sports persons category.

Manoj Koul of ETV, who reports from the Kashmir valley, and Tahir Mohuiddin of Chattan and Zafar Choudhary of News Now have been accorded State Award for outstanding media persons.

Sonam Wangchuk has been accorded State Award as outstanding environmentalist as he has created ice stupa which were used not only for harvest of water but also a tourist attraction.

Zia Ashai has been accorded state award for outstanding industrial entrepreneurship.

Saleem Beg gets a cash award of Rs 1 lakh, a medal and citation, G N Aatish and Nirmal Kumar Gupta gets a cash award of Rs 51,000, a shawl worth Rs 10,000 and a citation while others get a cash award of Rs 51,000, a medal and citation.

This is published unedited from the PTI feed.