New Delhi: A day after assuming office, CBI Director Alok Verma on Thursday ordered transfer of five officials of the agency. The five officers are Joint Director Ajay Bhatnagar, DIG M K Sinha, DIG Tarun Gauba, Joint Director Murugesan and Additional Director A K Sharma. Also Read - Supreme Court Issues Notice to Prashant Bhushan on Contempt Plea by AG And Centre Over Tweets on CBI Issue

The move came at a time when a high-powered committee headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi met for the second time to decide the fate of CBI Director Alok Verma, reinstated by a Supreme Court order after he was sent on forced leave by the government. Also Read - Kolkata Crisis: Dharmendra Pradhan Hits Back at Mamata Banerjee For Opposing CBI Inquiry in Chit Fund Scams

The top court had asked the government to convene the meeting within a week of its order. It had quashed the government’s unprecedented “overnight” order issued in October last year, stripping Verma of his powers and sending him on leave after he and his deputy traded corruption charges, sparking a bitter feud. Also Read - Kolkata Crisis: Chandrababu Naidu Says Opposition to Hold Meeting in Delhi, Draft Action Plan For Nation-wide Movement

The court, while reinstating Verma, however, made it clear that he will desist from taking any major policy decision till a high-powered committee considers the issue of “divestment of power and authority”.

The development comes a day after Verma, who joined the office 77 days after he was sent on forced leave, cancelled most of the transfers ordered by M Nageswar Rao, who was replaced by him as interim chief.

Rao, during his tenure of around 3 months as CBI interim chief, had ordered transfer of 10 officers from Verma’s team.

Meanwhile, CBI Deputy SP Devender Kumar moved the Delhi High Court against Director Alok Verma’s decision to reverse transfer orders of various officers.

The plea is likely to be listed for hearing on Friday before Justice Najmi Waziri, who has already reserved verdict on various petitions of Special Director Rakesh Asthana, Kumar and middleman Manoj Prasad seeking to quash the bribery FIR against them.