New Delhi: Karawal Nagar became one of the only seven constituencies won by the BJP in the 2020 Delhi Assembly Election. Its candidate, Mohan Singh Bisht, was today declared victorious after counting of votes for the Assembly polls. Also Read - Narela Assembly Elections Results 2020: AAP's Sharad Kumar Wins Against BJP's Neeldaman Khatri

The polls for Karawal Nagar Assembly constituency were held on February 8. The counting of votes for this constituency began at 8 AM on Tuesday amid tight security and strict arrangements. The EVMs used for this constituency were kept in the strong room. As per updates from the EC, Karawal Nagar constituency recorded 60.72 per cent voter turnout on February 8. (Full Delhi Assembly Election 2020 coverage) Also Read - Delhi Assembly Election 2020 Counting: AAP Crosses Majority Mark in Early Trends, Double-Digit For BJP

For the Delhi Assembly Election 2020 in Karawal Nagar constituency, the AAP has fielded Durgesh Pathak, while the BJP and the Congress have fielded Mohan Singh Bisht and Arbind Singh respectively. (Follow this link for Zee News live streaming). For Election Commission updates, click here. Also Read - New Delhi Assembly Election 2020 Result: Arvind Kejriwal Wins, To Return as CM For Third Term

If voted to power, AAP candidate Durgesh Pathak said he wanted to develop this area. He also promised to build a hospital and a school in the area. While holding a rally in this constituency, he had blamed the BJP for the backwardness of the constituency.

In the last Delhi assembly election which was held in 2015, AAP’s Kapil Mishra had won this seat with 101865 votes, followed by BJP’s Mohan Singh Bisht by 57434 votes and INC’s Satan Pal Dayma by 5362 votes.

Live Updates

  • 6:06 PM IST

    Karawal Nagar Assembly Election 2020 Result LIVE: BJP’s Mohan Singh Bisht wins from Karawal Nagar; one of just seven seats won by the saffron party.

  • 12:29 PM IST

    Karawal Nagar Assembly Election 2020 Result LIVE: BJP candidate Mohan Singh Bisht now leads his nearest competitor by 6,694 votes.

  • 10:20 AM IST

    Karawal Nagar Assembly Election 2020 Result LIVE: BJP candidate Mohan Singh Bisht takes early lead.