New Delhi: Ahead of the crucial Delhi Assembly Election 2020, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Friday released its ‘Sankalp Patra’ or election manifesto. Unveiling the document, alongside Union Minister Harsh Vardhan, Prakash Javadekar and Delhi unit chief Manoj Tiwari, Union Minister Nitin Gadkari said BJP’s history is connected to the history of Delhi. Also Read - Delhi Assembly Election 2020: All You Need to Know About Shalimar Bagh Where BJP Reposes Trust in Rekha Gupta to Regain Lost Bastion

“Delhi is the heart of the country and the city is a matter of pride for all Hindustanis. From ancient days, history of the entire country is linked to Delhi and so is the history of the BJP,” Gadkari said. Also Read - Delhi Assembly Election 2020: High-Prestige Chandni Chowk Seat All Set to Witness Fiery Battle After MLA Alka Lamba Joins Congress

With primary focus on water and air pollution under a Rs 55,000 crore fund, the Union Minister highlighted projects by the central government such as the construction of western and eastern peripheral worth Rs. 16,000 crore that helped to direct traffic diversion and has also greatly reduced air pollution in the national capital. He furthered that Delhi has been undergoing a serious problem of drinking water. Also Read - Delhi Assembly Election 2020: BJP to Release Election Manifesto on Friday

Gadkari said that the BJP will continue the vision set by its late leader Atal Bihari Vajpayee and work towards changing the future of Delhi. “Delhi will need far-reaching planning to build a concrete future and that vision has been conveyed by the BJP,” he said.

Apart from the pollution issue, the saffron party’s manifesto also listed promises of fresh developmental works for new colonies, along with expediting underground electric wires for infrastructure. Addressing the press, BJP’s Delhi chief Manoj Tiwari said that the government aims to open a bank account for every newborn girl child. When the girl turns 21, the government will give Rs 2 lakh in her bank account, he said.

The national capital will go to polls on February 8 witnessing a triangular battle between the ruling AAP, the BJP, and Congress. The counting of votes is scheduled to be held on February 11.