New Delhi: The 70-member Delhi Assembly is likely to be retained by the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), even though it witnessed the tough fight from the rival Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), predicted Republic-Jan ki Baat exit poll. Also Read - Row Over Posters Critical of PM Modi: We Put Up Those, Arrest Our MLAs, Says AAP

Delhiites are eagerly waiting for the results that are scheduled to be out on February 11. However, until the final outcome is known, a number of exit poll surveys have been determined a rough idea as to who may win the capital assembly this time. Also Read - Congress MP Rajeev Satav Dies of COVID-Related Complications; Tributes Pour in

The BJP has definitely made its presence felt in this year’s election although it appears to insufficient to garner a majority. According to the Jan ki Baat exit poll, AAP is expected to bag 55 seats and BJP will win 15 seats. Meanwhile, Congress has failed to make a mark. Also Read - 'Should We Hang Ourselves If Vaccines Are Not Available' Asks Union Minister Sadananda Gowda

From the high-profile New Delhi seat, incumbent Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal is expected to easily win a third consecutive term. AAP also has an edge over others in Uttam Nagar seat (Naresh Balyan), Patparganj (Manish Sisodia), Okhla (Amanatullah Khan), as well as Chandni Chowk (Parlad Singh Sawhney) seat, where former MLA Alka Lamba had dropped out to join the Congress.

Meanwhile, BJP’s debutant Tajinder Pal Singh Bagga is projected to win Hari Nagar seat against AAP’s Jagdeep Singh.

Republic-Jan ki Baat had earlier projected the BJP to win more than 41 seats in the national capital. Interestingly, the BJP has not yet named their Chief Ministerial candidate, and neither has the Congress. Meanwhile, the incumbent AAP looks forward to reelecting their Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal for a third term.

It must be noted that the winning mark in the 70-member Delhi Assembly is 36. The pre-poll survey proved that the elections in national capital remain a two-way battle between the BJP and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), even the former lags behind.

Voting has ended with a total turnout touching 60 per cent, much lower than that of 2015. It will be interesting to see who steers the majority polls amid the long-drawn fierce battle among the AAP, the BJP, and the Congress.