New Delhi: A day after the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) alleged that poll officials were trying to take away electronic voting machines (EVMs) in an unauthorised manner in several places, Delhi Chief Electoral Officer Ranbir Singh on Sunday clarified that the said EVMs were the reserved ones and were not used for the polling.Also Read - 'No Question of Alliance With AAP,' Says Delhi Congress Chief Subhash Chopra

The clarification from the EC came after the AAP, showing a video on the phone, alleged that some poll officers were getting down from a DTC bus with EVMs in their hands. Also Read - Delhi Assembly Election: Final Voter Turnout 62.59%, EC Declares Figures After 24 Hours, Says 'We Are Not Late'

Showing a video clip on his cell phone, AAP’s Sanjay Singh said, “This is from Babarpur, Shanti Vidya Niketan. Here people have caught an official with EVMs. Similar information has come from Vishwas Nagar in Shahdara (east Delhi).” Also Read - Day After Delhi Polls, AAP Questions Safety of EVMs, Claims Tampering

On Saturday, he had said that he had a meeting with Deputy CM Manish Sisodia, Minister Gopal Rai, and strategist Prashant Kishor on the issue. “Information has been received that officials are trying to take away EVMs at several places in an unauthorised manner. The EVMs which should have been sealed and have gone straight to strongrooms. How are these machines with the officials?,” Sanjay Singh alleged.

Holding a press conference after 24 hours of the polling in the Delhi Assembly Election 2020, Delhi Chief Electoral Officer Ranbir Singh informed that the highest voter turnout was recorded in Ballimaran assembly constituency at 71.6 per cent. He added that the lowest voter turnout was recorded in Delhi Cantonment at 45.4 per cent.

However, the final voter turnout in the Delhi Assembly Election 2020 was 62.59 per cent. Elections to the 70-member Delhi Assembly were held on February 8. As per updates from the EC, Delhi had recorded a voter turnout of 67.47 per cent in 2015 Assembly polls.