New Delhi: The Bijwasan Assembly constituency witnessed a close fight on Tuesday, with AAP’s Bhupinder Singh Joon defeating BJP’s Sat Prakash Rana by less than 800 (753) seats. Also Read - New Delhi Assembly Election 2020 Result: Arvind Kejriwal Wins, To Return as CM For Third Term

The Congress, meanwhile, has fielded Praveen Rana from this seat. Also Read - Delhi Assembly Election Result 2020: AAP's Praveen Kumar Wins Jangpura Vidhan Sabha Seat

The national capital on Tuesday re-elected the AAP for another term in the national capital territory. Counting of votes began at 8 AM and trends all but confirmed another term for the AAP. (Full Delhi Assembly Election 2020 coverage) Also Read - Delhi Assembly Election 2020: Tight Security in Place, Over 21 Centres Set up For Counting of Votes Today

Also, trends and result can be followed on the Election Commission website. You can also follow the live updates on Zee News live streaming.

The constituency of Bijwasan, which, like Najafgarh, is Jat-dominated, is currently without an MLA as Colonel Devinder Kumar Sehrawat, who contested and won from here in 2015 on an AAP ticket, later defected to the BJP and was thus disqualified by the Delhi Assembly Speaker from its membership under the Anti-Defection Law.

The current Bijwasan constituency is new as it came into existence only in 2008 as a part of the implementation of the recommendations of the Delimitation Commission of India constituted in 2002.

There were about 1,86,482 eligible voters in this constituency, including 1,04,945 male, 81,521 female and 16 third gender voters. Bijwasan, along with nine other Assembly constituencies, forms the South Delhi Lok Sabha seat, the incumbent MP from which is the BJP’s Ramesh Bidhuri.

Live Updates

  • 6:23 AM IST

    Bijwasan Assembly Election 2020 Result LIVE: AAP’s BS Joon beats BJP’s SP Rana by a narrow margin of 753 votes.

  • 12:14 PM IST

    Bijwasan Assembly Election 2020 Result LIVE: Now, AAP takes lead in Bijwasan with BS Joon leading by 4,927 votes.

  • 9:09 AM IST

    Bijwasan Assembly Election 2020 Result LIVE: BJP candidate Sat Prakash Rana ahead of AAP’s BS Joon.

  • 8:31 AM IST

    Bijwasan Assembly Election 2020 Result LIVE: Counting of votes kicks off.