New Delhi: Delhi minister and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) candidate from Najafgarh, Kailash Gahlot on Tuesday came from behind to win the Najafgarh constituency. He won 65,373 votes from this seat. Also Read - Dwarka Assembly Election 2020 Result: AAP's Vinay Mishra Wins With 52% Votes

Counting of votes for the 2020 Delhi Assembly Election began at 8 AM trends indicating a comprehensive win for CM Arvind Kejriwal’s government. The ruling AAP will hope for its second consecutive five-year term in power, and third overall, after a 49-day term between December 2013 and February 2014. (Delhi Assembly Election 2020 news) Also Read - Uttam Nagar Assembly Election 2020 Result: Delhi Minister Naresh Balyan Wins With 53% Votes

Also, trends and result can be followed on the Election Commission website. You can also follow the live updates on Zee News live streaming. Also Read - Vikaspuri Assembly Election 2020 Result: AAP's Mahinder Yadav Wins With 55% Votes

In a close contest in 2015, Gahlot won this seat defeating Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) candidate Bharat Singh by just 1,555 votes; while Gahlot won 55,598 votes, Singh won 54,098 votes.

For the 2020 Assembly polls, pitted against Gahlot were Congress’ Sahib Singh Yadav and BJP’s Ajit Kharkhari. Gahlot has created history as he became the first-ever two-term MLA from this seat as it has never elected an MLA twice. The previous MLAs from this seat include Ajeet Singh Kharkhari (BJP-2013), Bharat Singh (Independent-2008), Ranbir Singh (Independent-2003), Kanwal Singh (Congress-1998) and Suraj Prasad (1998).

Located in the outskirts of Delhi, near the Haryana border, Najafgarh has a major population of farmers and traders. It is a part of the West Delhi Lok Sabha constituency, along with nine other Assemblies: Madipur, Rajouri Garden, Hari Nagar, Tilak Nagar, Janakpuri, Vikaspuri, Dwarka, Matiala and Uttam Nagar.

Live Updates

  • 5:56 PM IST

    Najafgarh Assembly Election 2020 Result LIVE: Delhi minister Kailash Gahlot wins 65,373 votes; wins Najafgarh constituency.

  • 12:10 PM IST

    Najafgarh Assembly Election 2020 Result LIVE: BJP’s Ajit Kharkhari takes a narrow 621-vote lead over Delhi minister Kailash Gahlot

  • 9:23 AM IST

    Najafgarh Assembly Election 2020 Result LIVE: Delhi Minister Kailash Gehlot takes lead.

  • 8:27 AM IST

    Najafgarh Assembly Election 2020 Result LIVE: Counting for the Najafgarh Assembly seat begins.