Live Updates

  • 5:39 PM IST

    Palam Assembly Election 2020 Result LIVE: AAP’s incumbent MLA Bhavna Gaur wins with over 50% votes, accumulates over 76,000 votes.

  • 12:17 PM IST

    Palam Assembly Election 2020 Result LIVE: Now, AAP’s Bhavna Gaur takes lead; ahead of nearest competitor by 4,896 votes.

  • 9:26 AM IST

    Palam Assembly Election 2020 Result LIVE: BJP candidate Vijay Pandit takes lead.

  • 8:33 AM IST

    Palam Assembly Election 2020 Result LIVE: Counting of Votes Begins in Palam constituency.

New Delhi: Palam was yet another constituency won by the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) as its candidate Bhavna Gaur won from here, winning over 76,000 votes.

Counting of votes for the Delhi Assembly Election 2020 began at 8 AM on Tuesday. (Delhi Assembly Election 2020 news)

Trends and result can be followed on the Election Commission website. You can also follow the live updates on Zee News live streaming.

The Palam Vidhan Sabha constituency is part of the South Delhi Lok Sabha constituency. The seat, in its current form, came into existence in 2008 as a part of the implementation of the recommendations of the Delimitation Commission of India constituted in 2002. Its current MLA is the AAP’s Bhavna Gaur who defeated former four-term MLA from this constituency, Dharam Dev Solanki of the BJP. In the 2013 polls, Gaur finished runner-up to Solanki. The only other MLA from this seat is Mahender Yadav, who for the Congress in 1998.

This is one of the four seats that Congress ally Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) is contesting the polls from and hence, the grand old party did not field any candidate from here. RJD’s Niram Kumar Singh will take on AAP’s Gaur and the BJP’s Vijay Pandit.

This constituency has total 2,27, 210 voters including 1,24,977 males, 1,02, 220 females and 13 third gender.

Palam is part of South Delhi Lok Sabha constituency (earlier it was under the erstwhile Outer Delhi Lok Sabha constituency) along with nine other Vidhan Sabha segments, namely, Bijwasan, Sangam Vihar, Ambedkar Nagar, Chhatarpur, Deoli, Kalkaji, Tughlakabad, Badarpur and Mehrauli.