Live Updates

  • 5:03 PM IST

    Vikaspuri Assembly Election 2020 Result LIVE: AAP’s Mahinder Yadav wins Vikaspuri seat by winning 55.6% votes.

  • 11:58 AM IST

    Vikaspuri Assembly Election 2020 Result LIVE: Mahinder Yadav now ahead of his nearest rival by 4,291 votes.

  • 9:32 AM IST

    Vikaspuri Assembly Election 2020 Result LIVE: AAP’s Mahinder Yadav takes lead.

  • 8:11 AM IST

    Vikaspuri Assembly Election 2020 Result LIVE: Counting of votes begins for Vikaspuri seat for the 2020 Delhi Assembly Election.

New Delhi: Aam Aadmi Party (AAP)’s Mahinder Yadav won the Vikaspuri Assembly seat, winning 55.6% votes from this constituency.

Earlier on Tuesday, counting of votes for the 2020 Delhi Assembly polls began at 8 AM at counting centres across the national capital. (Delhi Assembly Election 2020 coverage)

Counting of votes can also be followed on the Election Commission website.

Mahinder Yadav is also the current MLA from Vikaspuri. In the 2013 polls, he defeated his nearest rival, BJP’s Krishan Gahlot by a narrow margin of 405 votes. In 2015, however, Yadav proved his mettle yet again as he defeated BJP leader Sanjay Singh by a massive margin of over 77,000 votes.

The single-phase 2020 Delhi Assembly Election took place on Saturday with the exit polls, revealed by various pollsters later in the day, all forecasting Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal-led AAP retaining power for a second consecutive term, which will also be the party’s third, after its first term between December 2013 and February 2014, which lasted for 49 days. (Follow this link for Zee News live streaming)

Vikaspuri is one of the 70 Assembly seats in the national capital, which, together with nine other Assembly constituencies, makes up the West Delhi Lok Sabha constituency, which is currently held by BJP leader Parvesh Verma, who made several controversial remarks in the run-up to the 2020 Assembly polls here.

The ruling AAP 67 seats, out of of 70, in the previous Assembly Election, held in 2015. The BJP has the remaining three seats, while the Congress drew a blank. BJP had been tipped to improve its tally, though not by much, while the Congress was once again projected to witness a whitewash.