New Delhi: Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) candidate Vinay Mishra won the Dwarka Assembly seat, winning nearly 52% (51.7%) votes in the constituency. Also Read - Uttam Nagar Assembly Election 2020 Result: Delhi Minister Naresh Balyan Wins With 53% Votes

Earlier, counting of votes for the 2020 Delhi Assembly Election began at 8 AM at counting centres across the national capital. (Full Delhi Assembly Election 2020 coverage) Also Read - Vikaspuri Assembly Election 2020 Result: AAP's Mahinder Yadav Wins With 55% Votes

Also, trends and result can be followed on the Election Commission website. You can also follow the live updates on Zee News live streaming. Also Read - Delhi Assembly Election Result 2020: AAP's Praveen Kumar Wins Jangpura Vidhan Sabha Seat

Ex-AAP MLA Adarsh Shastri, who switched ranks to the Congress was fielded by the party from this seat. The BJP, meanwhile, fielded its former two-term MLA from here, Pradyuman Rajput, who was also the runner-up to Shastri in the previous Assembly Election, in 2015.

Notably, Adarsh Shastri is the grandson of former, and second Prime Minister of India, Lal Bahadur Shastri.

In the 2015 polls, Mahabal Mishra, who had finished third from this constituency, had also lost his deposit. Of the total 1,34,952 votes polled, he had bagged just 12,532 vote. Rajput, meanwhile, lost to Shastri by 39,366 votes. While Shastri had garnered 79,729 votes, Rajput bagged 40,363 votes in the Assembly polls.

Delhi Assembly Election 2020 was held in a single phase on February 8 across all 70 constituencies. The turnout recorded was a little over 61%, way less than 67% from the 2015 Assembly polls. The ruling AAP, which won 67 seats in the 70-seat Assembly, is looking at another five-year term in office.

Live Updates

  • 5:20 PM IST

    Dwarka Assembly Election 2020 Result LIVE: AAP candidate Vinay Mishra wins 51.7% votes, trumps BJP’s Pradyuman Rajput.

  • 12:04 PM IST

    Dwarka Assembly Election 2020 Result LIVE: Now, AAP’s Vinay Mishra takes lead; ahead of nearest competitor by 2,284 votes.

  • 8:54 AM IST

    Dwarka Assembly Election 2020 Result LIVE: BJP’s Pradyuman Rawat races into lead ahead of AAP’s Adarsh Shastri and Vinay Mishra.