Laxmi Nagar Assembly Election 2020: AAP’s sitting MLA of Laxmi Nagar, Nitin Tyagi, recently made headlines for his assets which have gone up by Rs 20 lakh in the last five years. Apart from Nitin Tyagi, other candidates in fray from this constituency in East Delhi are Abhay Kumar Verma of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Hari Dutt Sharma of the Indian National Congress. In 2015, Nitin Tyagi defeated BJP’s BB Tyagi by 5,000-odd votes. Also Read - Delhi Assembly Election 2020: In Sadar Bazaar, Two-Time AAP MLA Som Dutt Eyes Hat-trick Against Congress, BJP

Another reason why the constituency is significant is that former AAP leader Vinod Kumar Binny’s name was associated with this constituency. Binny had a comfortable win in 2013, while in 2015 it was neck and neck between the AAP and the BJP, with AAP finally taking over. Also Read - Delhi Assembly Election 2020: Here's Model Town Seat, Where Kejriwal's Friend-Turned-Foe Kapil Mishra Fights From BJP

Laxmi Nagar in 2015
AAPNitin Tyagi58,22942.54+6.13
BJPBB Tyagi53,38339.00+10.37
CongressAshok Kumar Walia23,62717.26-12.59

Areas under the constituency Also Read - Delhi Assembly Election 2020: All You Need to Know About Chandni Chowk's Wazirpur Seat

Kundan nagar, Krishan Kunj, Guru Ramdas Nagar, Laxmi Nagar, Gururam Das Nagar, Ramesh Park, Garhwali Mohalla, Laxmi Nagar, Lalita Park, Shakarpur, Pandav Nagar, Mandwali, Samaspur