New Delhi: Polling at the Badli seat, one of the oldest villages in the 70-member Delhi Assembly ended in a single-phase election. AAP’s Ajesh Yadav has won against BJP’s Vijay Kumar Bhagat by gaining a total of 69,357 votes. Congress’ Devendra Yadav, who came second in the previous election secured a third this time. Also Read - Congress Decides to Postpone Party President Election Due to Pandemic

The counting of votes began at 8 AM on Tuesday. Also Read - BJP's Troubleshooter, NE's Most Influential Politician Himanta Biswa Sarma to Take Oath as Assam CM Today

After a fierce month-long battle between the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), the exit polls have projected a comfortably return of Arvind Kejriwal for a third term in the capital assembly against the BJP which seeking a comeback after 20 years. Meanwhile, the Congress is expected to draw a blank. Also Read - Will Himanta Sarma Outplay Sonowal to Become Assam CM? Crucial Decision Today

Delhi Assembly Election Result 2020 LIVE Streaming on ZEE News

Badli comprises of two urban villages, Badli and Samaypur, and three rural villages, namely, Libaspur, Siraspur and Bhalswa.

For this assembly election, AAP’s incumbent Ajesh Yadav is fighting from the seat. From BJP, Vijay Bhagat is in the fray while from Congress Devender Yadav will be fighting the polls.

There are a total of 2, 23, 268 electors in Badli, of which females are 95, 053 and males, 1, 28,192. There are 23 people from the third gender.

In the 2015 assembly election, AAP’s Ajesh Yadav had won the seat. From NDA, Rajesh Yadav had contested from the seat while from the Congress, Devender Yadav was in the fray.

Delhi Assembly Elections 2020 Vote Counting Live Updates on Election Commission of India Website

This time, a new concept of absentee voters has been introduced for Delhi polls which enables those voters to take part in polls who are not able to come to polling stations due to physical circumstances or unavoidable reasons. The PWDs and senior citizens above 80 years can either vote in person or vote through postal ballot.

In the 2015 assembly elections, Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi Party had bagged 67 of the total 70 seats.