New Delhi: The polls for the Gandhi Nagar Assembly constituency were held on February 8. The counting of votes for this constituency began at 8 AM. According to the latest trends, the Bharatiya Janata Party is leading this seat with candidate Anil Bajpai, while the Aam Aadmi Party’s Naveen Chaudhary is trailing by a margin of 3186 votes. Also Read - Congress Decides to Postpone Party President Election Due to Pandemic

In the Delhi Assembly Election 2020, this constituency saw a close fight between AAP’s Naveen Choudhary (Deepu) and BJP’s Anil Bajpayee and Congress’ Arvinder Singh Lovely. Also Read - BJP's Troubleshooter, NE's Most Influential Politician Himanta Biswa Sarma to Take Oath as Assam CM Today

Delhi Assembly Election Result 2020 LIVE Streaming on ZEE News Also Read - Will Himanta Sarma Outplay Sonowal to Become Assam CM? Crucial Decision Today

In 2015 Delhi Assembly Election, AAP’s Anil Kumar Bajpai had received massive victory from this constituency with 50,946 votes, followed by BJP’s Jitender with 43464 votes and Congress’ Surender Prakash Sharma with 16,228 votes.

Holding a press conference, Delhi Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Ranbir Singh on Sunday said that the total voter turnout in Delhi Assembly Elections 2020 was 62. 95 per cent.

“The voter turnout in Delhi was 62.59 per cent. It is about 2 per cent more than the last Lok Sabha elections. It is, however, less than the turnout in the last Assembly polls held in 2015,” Singh had said.

However, the highest voter turnout was recorded in Ballimaran assembly constituency at 71.6 per cent, while the lowest voter turnout was recorded in Delhi Cantonment at 45.4 per cent.

Delhi Assembly Elections 2020 Vote Counting Live Updates on Election Commission of India Website

One of the most congested colonies with a population of around 3.5 lakh, Gandhi Nagar is one of the 70 state assembly constituencies. This constituency is a middle-income and commercial-cum-residential area in East Delhi.