New Delhi: The polls for Seelampur Assembly constituency were held on February 8. The counting of votes for this constituency began at 8 AM amid tight security. Aam Aadmi Party’s Abdul Rehman has made a sweeping victory defeating the BJP’s Kaushal Kumar Mishra by a margin of 36,920 votes. Also Read - 'Should We Hang Ourselves If Vaccines Are Not Available' Asks Union Minister Sadananda Gowda

Other key candidates in the fray included Chaudhary Mateen Ahmad of the Congress who secured the third place with 20,207 votes, and Mohammad Afzal from Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), among others. Also Read - Congress Decides to Postpone Party President Election Due to Pandemic

Delhi Assembly Election Result 2020 LIVE Streaming on ZEE News Also Read - BJP's Troubleshooter, NE's Most Influential Politician Himanta Biswa Sarma to Take Oath as Assam CM Today

Notably, Seelampur assembly constituency recorded 60.63 per cent voter turnout on February 8.

In Delhi Assembly Election 2020, the AAP has fielded Abdul Rehman, who faced Congress’ Ahmed and BJP’s Kaushal Mishra. With the emerging of the early trend, it will be clear whether Rehman is retaining the seat for the AAP or not.

Having made headlines for violent protests against the Citizenship Amendment Act 2019, Seelampur is one of the 70 assembly constituencies of Delhi. This constituency in East Delhi is closely linked to the Emergency (1975-77) as many people, mainly Muslims, were relocated after the demolition of their homes in the north and central Delhi that time.

Delhi Assembly Elections 2020 Vote Counting Live Updates on Election Commission of India Website

Dominated by Muslims, this constituency is currently held by the Aam Aadmi Party’s Mohammad Ishraque, who won the 2015 polls with over 51 per cent of the vote, defeating BJP’s Sanjay Jain and the Congress’ Chaudhary Mateen Ahmad.