New Delhi: The polls for Seemapuri Assembly constituency were held on February 8. The counting of votes for this constituency began at 8 AM. AAP’s Rajendra Pal Gautam has won the seat by a comfortable margin of 56,108 votes. The Congress secured a far second position with candidate Veer Singh Dhingan followed by Lok Jan Shakti Party’s Sant Lal. The BJP did not field its nominee in this constituency. Also Read - Deploy Resources in Saving Lives Instead of Building PM's New House: Priyanka Gandhi

Seemapuri constituency recorded a voter turnout of 68.08 per cent on February 8. Also Read - BJP to Hold Nationwide Dharna on May 5 Against Widespread Violence Post Bengal Election Results

In Delhi Assembly Election 2020, Karam Vir Chandel from BJP was dropped, leaving with Rajendra Pal Gautam from AAP and Veer Singh Dhingan from Congress witnessing a fistfight from the constituency. Also Read - Tamil Nadu Election Results 2021: Here's Full List of Winners Constituency-wise

Delhi Assembly Election Result 2020 LIVE Streaming on ZEE News

In 2015 Delhi Assembly Elections, Rajendra Pal Gautam from AAP had won from the area with 79,777 votes. BJP’s Karamvir had got 30,956 votes and Veer Singh Dhingan from Congress had got 10,674 votes.

Located in East Delhi along the border with Uttar Pradesh, Seemapuri is one of the seventy Delhi assembly constituencies of the national capital. Reserved for SCs, the Seemapuri constituency elected Aam Aadmi Party’s Rajendra Pal Gautam with over 63 per cent votes in the 2015 polls.

Holding a press conference, Delhi Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Ranbir Singh on Sunday said that the total voter turnout in Delhi Assembly Elections 2020 was 62. 95 per cent.

Delhi Assembly Elections 2020 Vote Counting Live Updates on Election Commission of India Website

“The voter turnout in Delhi was 62.59 per cent. It is about 2 per cent more than the last Lok Sabha elections. It is, however, less than the turnout in the last Assembly polls held in 2015,” Singh had said.