New Delhi: Polling at the Burari seat of the 70-member Delhi Assembly ended in a single-phase election. AAP’s incumbent Sanjeev Jha has won the Burari seat by a landslide vote margin of over 66,132 defeating Janata Dal’s Shailendra Kumar. Also Read - Congress MP Rajeev Satav Dies of COVID-Related Complications; Tributes Pour in

The counting of votes began at 8 AM on Tuesday and the overall results are expected to be declared by the EC this evening. Also Read - 'Should We Hang Ourselves If Vaccines Are Not Available' Asks Union Minister Sadananda Gowda

After a fierce month-long battle between the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), the exit polls have projected a comfortably return of Arvind Kejriwal for a third term in the capital assembly against the BJP which seeking a comeback after 20 years. Meanwhile, the Congress is expected to draw a blank. Also Read - Congress Decides to Postpone Party President Election Due to Pandemic

Delhi Assembly Election Result 2020 LIVE Streaming on ZEE News

The Purvanchali-dominated Assembly constituency, Burari is one of the most populated constituencies a and is famous for all bad reasons such as crime, bad roads and lack of water and sewerage system.

Burari Assembly seat comprises Ibrahimpur, Jahangirpuri Resettlement Colony and Nathupura and rural settlements like Mukandpur, Nangli Poona, Jagatpur, Kadipur and Mukhmelpur. Of the 3,57,331 voters, only 1,58,218 are females and the constituency has a sex ratio of 795, below the state’s gender ratio of 824.

Since the Burari Assembly seats’s formation through the delimitation process in 2008, it has elected Sanjeev Jha, a Purvanchali, of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) in 2013 and 2015. In 2013, when the AAP contested elections the first time, Jha won by 10,000 votes and in 2015 he defeated Gopal Jha of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) by 68,000 votes.

Delhi Assembly Elections 2020 Vote Counting Live Updates on Election Commission of India Website

In 2008, Sri Krishan of the BJP had won the seat.

This year, Sanjeev Jha is contesting against JD(U)’s Shailendra Kumar and RJD’s Pramod Tyagi. The BJP did not contest from this seat.

The area hit the headlines in July 2018 when 11 members of a family were found dead in their house, which the police termed a case of mass suicide.

Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi Party had bagged 67 of the total 70 seats in the 2015 assembly elections.