New Delhi: Polling at the Kirari seat of the 70-member Delhi Assembly ended in a single-phase election and the counting of votes will begin at 8 AM on Tuesday. Rituraj Govind, AAP’s sitting MLA has retained the seat, defeating the BJP’s Anil Jha by 5,654 votes. Also Read - 'Should We Hang Ourselves If Vaccines Are Not Available' Asks Union Minister Sadananda Gowda

After a fierce month-long battle between the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), the exit polls have projected a comfortably return of Arvind Kejriwal for a third term in the capital assembly against the BJP which seeking a comeback after 20 years. Meanwhile, the Congress is expected to draw a blank. Also Read - Congress Decides to Postpone Party President Election Due to Pandemic

Delhi Assembly Election Result 2020 LIVE Streaming on ZEE News Also Read - BJP's Troubleshooter, NE's Most Influential Politician Himanta Biswa Sarma to Take Oath as Assam CM Today

The Kirari Assembly seat is a part of North West Delhi Lok Sabha constituency and was created by reorganization by delimitation commission in 2008.

In the upcoming assembly election, Rituraj Govind is in the fray for the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), while from BJP, Anil Jha will be contesting from the seat. From RJD, which is fighting in alliance with the Congress, has fielded Dr Mohd Riyazuddin Khan from the seat.

As per the Election Commission, there are a total of 2,42,830 registered voters from the seat, of which females are 1,02,855 and 1,39,946 males. There are 29 registered voters from the third gender.

In the 2015 assembly elections, AAP’s Rituraj Govind had won the seat. From NDA, Anil Jha Vats was in the fray while Pratyush Kant fought from the Congress. The assembly election had registered a total of 61 per cent voter turnout.

Delhi Assembly Elections 2020 Vote Counting Live Updates on Election Commission of India Website

This time, a new concept of absentee voters has been introduced for Delhi polls which enables those voters to take part in polls who are not able to come to polling stations due to physical circumstances or unavoidable reasons. The PWDs and senior citizens above 80 years can either vote in person or vote through postal ballot.

Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi Party had bagged 67 of the total 70 seats in the 2015 assembly elections.