New Delhi: A city court has slapped a fine of Rs 2 lakh on convicted Aam Aadmi Party MLA, Sahi Ram Pahalwan, in a case relating to assaulting a youth in September 2016. Pehalwan is the legislator from Tughlakabad constituency. Also Read - AAP MLA Raghav Chadha Claims UP CM Yogi Adityanath Getting Migrants 'Thrashed'; Cops Register FIR

Additional Chief Metropolitan Magistrate Samar Vishal also imposed a fine of Rs 2 lakh each on Pahalwan’s associates, Subhash and Lalit, who were convicted under Section 324 (voluntarily causing hurt by sharp object), Section 341 (wrongful restraint) and Section 34 (common intention) of the Indian Penal Code. Also Read - Tahir Hussain Arrested And Remanded to 4-Day Police Custody in IB Staffer's Murder Case

However, the court did not award a jail term to any of the convicts, giving them an opportunity to reform. The court directed to pay Rs 1.5 lakh as compensation to the complainant Yogender Bidhur. The compensation amount will be paid out of the total fine imposed on the three convicts. Also Read - '90% of us Won't be Able to Prove Our Citizenship,' Says Arvind Kejriwal as Delhi Passes Anti-NPR Resolution

The complainant has alleged that on September 20, 2016, the legislator with his associates had assaulted him.  The police had said the MLA had opposed and threatened the supervisor who was supervising the construction of a cement road in a lane outside Bidhur’s house in Tekhand on the intervening night of September 18-19, 2016.

When Bidhur came to know that the MLA had threatened the supervisor, he called Pahalwan and asked him why he had stopped the construction work.

Pahalwan then threatened Bidhur with dire consequences, the police said.

In the 2015 Delhi assembly elections, Pehalwan had wrested the seat from BJP’s Vikram Bidhuri by a margin of more than 32,000 votes. Within the inner circles of AAP, Pehalwan is considered to be a strongman and a big-time political player. He had switched from Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) to the Arvind Kejriwal-led outfit barely days ahead of the elections.

(With agency inputs)