New Delhi: Reacting to the early trends of Delhi MCD Elections 2017, the founder of Swaraj India and former Aam Aadmi Party leader took a dig at the chief minister Arvind Kejriwal and said that Delhi has rejected CM and elected PM. Talking to leading news channel NDTV, Yogendra Yadav asserted that this result has clearly reflected that people are disappointed with the state government.

On being asked about the performance of his party Swaraj India, which is no where in the MCD Elections 2017, Yogendra Yadav said,”This is a starting point, this is not our election to gain big seats, it was a foundational election.”

As per the early trends, the BJP is leading on 153 seats, Congress is leading on 25 wards in the Delhi MCDs. Congress had managed a total of 77 seats in 2012 MCD Elections. While AAP had been lagging behind as per the early trends, it now has come back in action with leading on 35 seats. This is the first time AAP is contesting in the municipal corporation elections.

Counting of votes for the prestigious Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD)  started at 8 AM. A total of 2537 candidates from 19 political parties and independents are in the fray for 272 wards. 53.58 per cent voter turnout was recorded in all three municipal corporation-East Delhi Municipal Corporation (EDMC), North Delhi Municipal Corporation (NDMC) and South Delhi Municipal Corporation (SDMC) which went to polls on April 23.