New Delhi: Soon after the Congress delegation met President Ram Nath Kovind over the Delhi violence, BJP leader and Union Minister Prakash Javadekar on Thursday said the Central government is working to restore peace in the national capital. Javadekar also slammed the Congress and the AAP for doing politics over the communal violence that has claimed 27 lives so far. Also Read - Delhi Violence: CBSE to Conduct Fresh Exams For Students Who Couldn't Appear For Papers

“The BJP is working to restore peace. The party also condemns the Congress and the AAP for doing politics over the violence,” Prakash Javadekar said. Also Read - Delhi Violence: Congress Delegation Meets President Kovind, Reiterates Party's Demand For Removal of HM Amit Shah

He also went on to say that various attempts are being to instigate violence for two months. “Sonia Gandhi gave a call for ‘fight to the finish’ at a rally in December,” Javadekar added. Also Read - Delhi Violence: MEA Responds to USCIRF Statement, Calls it 'Factually Inaccurate And Misleading'

He also stated that the AAP MLAs should have worked for the restoration of peace, instead CM Kejriwal identified riot victims by religion in Assembly.

“Peace has been restored in two days, the probe has been speeded up and arrests have been made,” he added.

The statement from the BJP comes hours after Congress leaders led by party chief Sonia Gandhi met President Ram Nath Kovind and demanded Home Minister’s Amit Shah’s resignation.

Submitting a memorandum, party president Sonia Gandhi said both the Delhi government and the Centre remained mute spectators instead of trying to take remedial measures to control the situation.

“We call upon you and the constitutional office you hold, that the life, liberty and property of the citizens is preserved, secured and protected. You should immediately call for the removal of the home minister given the gross ineptitude, abdication of duty and his inability to contain the situation,” Sonia said.

The delegation of the Congress included former PM Manmohan Singh, Leader of Opposition in Rajya Sabha Ghulam Nabi Azad, Ahmed Patel, P Chidambaram, KC Venugopal, Mallikarjuna Kharge, Priyanka Gandhi Vadra, Anand Sharma, A K Antony, Kumari Selja and Randeep Surjewala.