New Delhi: As many as eight opposition parties, including the Congress, Trinamool Congress, NCP and the Left, on Monday issued a joint statement to the BJP-led Centre demanding the immediate release three former Chief Ministers of Jammu and Kashmir who have been detained since August last year, from the night before the abrogation of Article 370. Also Read - Congratulations Pour in For Mamata Banerjee as TMC Scores Landslide Victory in West Bengal

“We demand the immediate release of all political detainees in Kashmir, especially the three former Chief Ministers of J&K (Farooq Abdullah, Omar Abdullah and Mehbooba Mufti). Under the Modi government, democratic dissent is being muzzled by coercive administrative action,” the statement read. Also Read - Jammu and Kashmir Admin Announces Complete Lockdown In 11 districts Amid Spike In COVID Cases

The resolution was signed by former Prime Minister HD Deve Gowda, West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, Nationalist Congress Party chief Sharad Pawar, former union ministers Yashwant Sinha and Arun Shourie, Communist Party of India (CPI) leader D Raja, CPI-Marxist’s Sitaram Yechury and Rashtriya Janata Dal MP Manoj Jha. Also Read - Complete Corona Curfew Imposed in Jammu and Kashmir Till Monday Morning

In a controversial move that caused nationwide outrage, the Narendra Modi-led central government passed the bill for the revocation of Article 370 from the Indian Constitution on August, scrapping Jammu and Kashmir’s special status and bifurcating the state into two Union Territories – J&K and Ladakh.