New Delhi, May 21: Days after Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) BS Yeddyurappa stepped down as Karnataka CM without facing floor test, ,making way for Congress- Janata Dal Secular (JD-S) government, Congress leader DK Shivakumar revealed that he had swallowed the bitterness against JD(S) to keep the BJP at bay. DK Shivkumar — the seven-time legislator  from Sathnur and later Kanakapura is considered the main architect, who ensured defeat for BJP in recently concluded Karnataka Assembly Elections 2018. Also Read - Mamata Banerjee Dares BJP To Arrest Her, Says Will Ensure TMC Victory in Polls From Jail Itself

Speaking exclusively to Indian Express, Shivakumar, popularly known as DKS, in Karnataka politics disclosed that he was a strong opponent of HD Deve Gowda-led JD(S), but when party president Rahul Gandhi took a decision in the interest of the party, he swallowed some bitterness. Also Read - BJP MLA Vijay Kumar Sinha Elected Speaker of Bihar Assembly by Majority Vote

The 56-year-old Congress leader also hinted that the future of the Congress-JD(S) alliance is filled with challenges but both parties would work together to defeat Bharatiya Janata Party in 2019 Lok Sabha elections. (Also Read: I Was Constantly in Touch With Those Missing MLAs: Cong Leader DK Shivakumar) Also Read - Congress Leader Rahul Gandhi Pays Last Respects to Former Assam Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi

On being asked about Congress’ performance in the Assembly Elections 2018, Shivakumar clearly stated that the party has failed and their destiny went wrong. “I do not want to elaborate or discuss this. We have failed. I admit that we have failed. We will sit together and discuss among ourselves and see that the problem will not happen in the future,” he told the leading daily.

Notably, Shivakumar, a Vokkaliga is the one who had defeated JD(S) supremo HD Deve Gowda in his turf  Sathanur in 1989 Assembly election. His fight with the Gowdas is well-known but now, with the Congress and JD(S) in an alliance, he said, “Politics is an art of possibility. We should forget our individual issues.”

Meanwhile, in Karnataka elections, the BJP won 104 of the 222 seats, falling eight short of the 112-halfway mark. The Congress bagged 78 seats and the JD-S 37 along with its ally Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP). The Karnataka Assembly has a total strength of 224. Elections to 2 seats were deferred and voting took place for 222 seats. The total number in the House will go down from 222 to 221 as H D Kumaraswamy, who contested from two seats and won from both, will have to vacate one seat.