New Delhi: Amid ongoing row over Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) used in the Delhi University Students Union (DUSU) elections, the Election Commission of India (ECI) on Friday issued a clarification. The Commission said, “ECI is not responsible for the conduct of local body elections that are conducted by the State Election Commissions and elections held by various organisations/institutions and consequently about various protocols and procedures adopted by them”. (ALSO READ: Arvind Kejriwal Questions EC on EVMs Used in DUSU Elections)

The clarification came after Congress and AAP questioned the Commission’s claim that EVMs used in elections had been procured privately. The Election Commission on Thursday had clarified that they did not supply the Electronic Voting Machines used in Delhi University Students Union elections.

On Thursday, the counting of the DUSU election was stopped for an hour when there were allegations of faulty EVMs. However, following objections by students, the election officials decided to suspend the counting. But later it was resumed.

As per ANI tweets, ECI said, “Commission is confident and has a firm conviction about the integrity, non-tamperability, and credibility of ECI-EVMs. The basis of confidence flows from a wide range of technical and administrative protocols and procedural safeguards that protects our EVMs and VVPATs against any sort of tampering.”

“The Commission uses only single post EVMs. In DUSU polls it is told that multi-post EVMs (i.e. vote can be cast for more than one post, for instance, President/Vice-President/General Secretary), which are technically completely different from ECI’s single post EVMs, have been used,” the tweet further read.

Earlier in the day, Congress leader Ajay Maken and Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal had demanded fresh elections and said revote be held with ballot papers.

The RSS-affiliated Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad won three of the four seats, while the National Students Union of India got one post in the elections, the results of which were declared on Thursday.