New Delhi: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate Smriti Irani unseated Congress president Rahul Gandhi from his bastion – Amethi – by a margin of over 55,000 votes. Also Read - Congress Leader Ahmed Patel Laid to Rest in Gujarat’s Bharuch, Rahul Gandhi Attends Funeral

Elated over the win, the Union Minister bowed down before Amethi and thanked its people for believing in BJP and making her victorious. Also Read - Congress Leader Rahul Gandhi Pays Last Respects to Former Assam Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi

“Ek Nayi Subah Amethi ke Liye, Ek Naya Sankalp. Dhanywaad Amethi. Shat Shat Naman. Aapne Vikas Par Vishwas Jataya, Kamal ka Phool Khilaya. Amethi ka Aabhaar (A new morning for Amethi, a new resolution. Thank you Amethi for believing in development and making the lotus bloom. I extend my heartfelt thanks to Amethi),” she tweeted. Also Read - Congress Leader Ahmed Patel's Last Rites To Be Held At His Native Village In Gujarat's Bharuch

According to the Election Commission website, Irani polled 4,68,514 votes while Gandhi secured 4,13,394 votes. The victory margin for Irani is 55,120 votes.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Gandhi had defeated Irani by 1,07,903 votes.

Sweeping clean the country in Lok Sabha Elections 2019, the BJP routed the Congress, which could barely improve beyond its 2014 tally of 44 seats.

The voting for LS polls was held between April 11 and May 19 in which around 67 per cent of the nearly 900 million eligible people exercised their franchise to elect 542 members from a total of 8,049 contestants.