New Delhi: The month-long election campaigning in Madhya Pradesh and Mizoram for assembly elections ended on Monday. The voting in both states will be held in a single phase on Wednesday, November 28. Counting of votes in both the states will be held on the December 11. Also Read - A Uniform Body Of Law Strengthens The Sovereignty Of State And Uniform Civil Code Is The First Step Towards It

Over five crore registered voters in Madhya Pradesh — 2,63,01,300 men, 2,41,30,390 women and 1,389 comprising the third gender — will decide the fate of 2,907 candidates. There are 62,172 voters who can exercise their franchise through postal ballots. Also Read - Self Defence: Cooch Behar Firing Took Place After Locals Attacked CISF Jawans, Says Election Commission

Among the 2,907 candidates in Madhya Pradesh, the BJP has fielded candidates for all 230 seats while the Congress is contesting for 229 seats leaving one seat, Jatara in Tikamgarh district, for Sharad Yadav-led LJD.

The BSP has fielded 227 candidates and the SP is contesting for 51 seats. There are 1,102 independent candidates in the fray.

The Prime Minister, who addressed three election rallies in Rajasthan on Monday, refrained from campaigning in Madhya Pradesh on the last day. He, however, addressed two election rallies in the state on Sunday. In his campaign, Modi attacked the Congress on corruption, dynasty politics and several other issues and also gave accounts of the achievements of the state and the Centre.

Besides addressing several rallies, Shah on the last day held a roadshow in Indore. Chouhan toured extensively in the state and sought votes in the name of development.

On his part, Rahul Gandhi attacked Modi and his government on issues of corruption, unemployment, farmers’ plight and the promises made by Modi in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections and by Shivraj in the 2013 elections.

In the last assembly poll, of the total 230 seats, the BJP had won 165 seats, Congress 58, BSP four and independents three.

In Mizoram, a total of 209 candidates are in the fray.  The ruling Congress has fielded 40 candidates while opposition parties in the state, BJP and Mizo National Front (MNF), are contesting in 39 and 40 assembly constituencies respectively.

Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla is contesting for two seats — Serchhip and Champhai South. Mizoram is the last bastion of Congress in the northeast as it is the only state in that part of the country where BJP has no presence.  Around 7.7 lakh voters will decide the fate of 209 candidates.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) President Amit Shah, Congress President Rahul Gandhi, and Chief Ministers of Tripura, Meghalaya, Arunachal Pradesh, and Nagaland were among those undertaking hectic campaigns for their candidates.

The Election Commission has made elaborate arrangements to hold the elections and taken several security measures to ensure free and fair polls.

Among the eight northeastern states, Mizoram is the last state ruled by a Congress government. The party has been in power except for 10 years — 1998 to 2008 — since the state become a full-fledged state in 1987. The five-year term of the Mizoram Assembly ends on December 15.

Of the over 35,000 tribal immigrants, 11,232 are eligible to cast their votes in the Assembly elections.