New Delhi, Dec 28: The Election Commission of India (ECI) may announce dates for Assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Punjab, Goa and Manipur on December 30. According to sources, preparations for Assembly polls in Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Punjab, Goa and Manipur are in the last phase and the ECI will announce the schedule any time soon between Dec 28 to January 2. It is learnt the ECI will declare dates for Assembly polls after holding a crucial meeting on Dec 30. Also Read - Noida Lockdown News: Gautam Buddh Nagar Police Seizes 11 Vehicles, Issues Challans to 1470 People For Flouting Curbs

Sources also suggested Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections will be held in 7 phases, while polls in rest of the four states may take place in one phase. Assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh will be held before board exams, said sources. The first phase of Assembly election would begin from western Uttar Pradesh. In 2012, elections to the Uttar Pradesh Legislative assembly were held in seven phases from February 8 to March 3, and the dates were announced December 24, 2011. The Uttar Pradesh Assembly term ends on May 27. Assemblies in Punjab, Goa and Manipur are completing their term on March 18 while the Uttarakhand Assembly’s term is up to March 26. Also Read - Bizarre! People of This UP Village Are Scared of 'Rakhi', Haven't Celebrated Raksha Bandhan Since 1955; Here's Why

The ECI on Tuesday held meeting to discuss security arrangements in all five poll-bound states. Central security forces will be deployed in Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Punjab, Goa and Manipur to conduct fair elections. The code of conduct for elections will come into force once the ECI announces poll dates. The Commission gives 21 days to the political parties for campaigning after the elections are announced. The candidates get two weeks for filing the nominations. Also Read - Community Transmission in Manipur? 'Already Started', Claims Assembly Speaker Y Khemchand Singh

In Uttar Pradesh chief minister Akhilesh Yadav led Samajwadi Party (SP) will fight with Mayawati’s BSP, Congress and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) to retain power. Punjab will witness three-corner fight among ruling Akali Dal and BJP alliance, Congress and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP). Goa will also witness a triangular contest among ruling BJP, Congress and AAP.