New Delhi: After neck and neck fighting in the initial hours of counting, Mamata Banerjee rode the BJP challenge to take her Trinamool Congress to triumph for a third consecutive term in West Bengal while the BJP stormed to power in Assam. The Pinarayi Vijayan-led LDF created history by becoming the first political front in Kerala to retain power in 140-member Assembly. However, Tamil Nadu and Puducherry voted against the incumbents AIADMK prepared to cede space to the opposition DMK-led alliance in the former and the AINRC-led NDA headed toward power in the latter. Addressing a presser after her landslide win, TMC supremo Mamata said, “We are grateful to the people for this landslide victory. I have to start working for COVID19 immediately. The swearing-in will be a low-key event because of the prevailing COVID19 situation.”Also Read - Assembly Election 2021 Results: How To Check Results of West Bengal, Assam, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Puducherry Polls on ECI Website And App | Step-by-Step Guide Here

Banerjee conceded defeat to Adhikari, who proved to be a tough competitor and could well emerge one of the party’s most powerful leaders. “I respect the verdict of people of Nandigram, but have got landslide victory in Bengal”, Banerjee said adding that she would move court against the ‘mischief’ in Nandigram.

Meanwhile, Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated West Bengal and Kerala CMs Mamata and Vijayan. Modi also congratulated Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) Chief M.K. Stalin. In a series of tweets, Modi thanked the voters for supporting the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

“Congratulations to Mamata Didi for Trinamool Congress’s win in West Bengal. The Centre will continue to extend all possible support to the West Bengal government to fulfil people’s aspirations and to overcome the Covid-19 pandemic,” Modi tweeted.

In another tweet, the Prime Minister said, “I would like to thank my sisters and brothers of West Bengal who have blessed our party. From a negligible presence earlier, BJP’s presence has significantly increased. BJP will keep serving the people. I applaud each and every Karyakarta (party worker) for their spirited effort in the polls.”

Congratulating Pinarayi Vijayan, Modi tweeted,”I would like to congratulate Pinarayi Vijayan and the Left Democratic Front (LDF) for winning the Kerala Assembly elections. We will continue working together on a wide range of subjects and to ensure India mitigates the Covid-19 global pandemic.”

Thanking the people of Kerala, Modi said, “Gratitude to the people of Kerala who supported our party during these elections. I appreciate the efforts of our industrious party karyakartas, who will continue serving the people of the state and strengthen the party at the grassroots level.”

Congratulating Stalin for the DMK’s victory in Tamil Nadu, Modi tweeted, “Congratulations to M K Stalin and the DMK for the victory in the Tamil Nadu Assembly elections. We will work together for enhancing national progress, fulfilling regional aspirations and defeating the Covid-19 pandemic.”

Thanking the people of Tamil Nadu, Modi said, “I would like to thank the people of Tamil Nadu who supported the National Democratic Alliance (NDA). I assure the people of Tamil Nadu that we will keep working towards the state’s welfare and to further popularise the glorious Tamil culture. I applaud our karyakartas for their hard work.”

Live Updates

  • 11:21 AM IST

    Tamil Nadu Assembly Election Results: Tamil Nadu Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami sends his resignation to Governor Banwarilal Purohit.

  • 10:38 AM IST

    Bengal Assembly Election Result: TMC Supremo Mamata Banerjee calls for a meeting with all winning candidates today at 4pm at TMC Bhawan.

  • 9:33 AM IST

    Bengal Assembly Election Result: We’ll look into what went wrong. In the last election we won 3 seats, this time it is nearly 80. We had put a big target in front of us but we couldn’t achieve it. However, what we have got is not less, said West Bengal BJP President Dilip Ghosh on the target of 200-plus seats

  • 9:31 AM IST

    Bengal Assembly Election Result: Crude bombs recovered in Bhatpara area under Jagatdal Assembly constituency in North 24 Parganas district today morning.

  • 9:30 AM IST

    Bengal Assembly Election Result 2021 LIVE: The Election Commission of India has rejected TMC’s demand for a recount of votes at Nandigram

  • 7:40 PM IST

  • 7:40 PM IST

  • 7:39 PM IST

  • 6:46 PM IST

    Assam Assembly Election Result 2021 LIVE: Bharatiya Janata Party will form the government and the CM will also be from BJP, to continue development in the State, said Assam Minister and BJP leader Himanta Biswa Sarma.

  • 6:45 PM IST

    Bengal Assembly Election Result 2021 LIVE: I appeal to all my workers to not take out any victory rally, said West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee