New Delhi: Former Indian Revenue Service (IRS) (IT)-1980 officer Sushil Chandra took charge as the new Election Commissioner on Friday. Also Read - EC Curtails Campaign Timing Up To 7 PM, Extends Silence Period As COVID Cases Soar In Bengal

The former Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT) chairman who served multiple stints with the Income Tax department in Gujarat, was on Thursday appointed as one of two Election Commissioners by the central government. Also Read - Mamata Banerjee Urges EC To Merge Remaining Phases of Bengal Polls Into One Amid COVID Cases Surge

Chandra, a 1980-batch Indian Revenue Service (IRS) officer, became just the second IRS officer to hold the post, after TS Krishnamurthy, who went on to serve as Chief Election Commissioner from February 2004 to May 2005. Also Read - No Plans To Club Remaining West Bengal Poll Phases into One, Says Election Commission

Post his appointment, the Election Commission now comprises Sunil Arora as Chief Election Commissioner, with Ashok Lavasa and Chandra as two Commissioners. Chandra earlier served as the Principal Chief Commissioner of Income Tax (Pr.CCIT) in Gujarat from June 2015 to January 2016 as well as its Director General (DGIT) of Investigation.

Just a year later, in November 2016, he was appointed Chairman of the nation’s tax agency. His other postings in Gujarat have always been in Ahmedabad.

Meanwhile, IRS officer Pramod Chandra Mody on Friday took over as the new chairman of the Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT), the policy-making body of the Income Tax Department.

Mody, a 1982-batch Indian Revenue Service (Income Tax cadre) officer, has been appointed in place of Sushil Chandra, who was on Thursday named as Election Commissioner ahead of the Lok Sabha Elections 2019 due this summer.

The officer, who has worked in various capacities in the I-T Department, has been working as the Member (Administration) in the CBDT. He will be in office till June this year. The CBDT is headed by a chairman and can have a maximum of six members. There is a vacancy of two more members on the board.