Live Updates

  • 1:06 PM IST
    Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar on Thursday proved majority on the floor of the House. During the floor test, which was conducted on the orders of the Supreme Court, Manohar Parrikar led the BJP coalition received support of 22 MLAs. The Congress, which emerges as largest party winning 17 seats in the Goa Assembly elections 2017, got the support of 16 legislators. Congress MLA Vishwajeet Rane abstained from the voting.

    Manohar Parrikar, whose BJP heads a coalition government with a slim majority, was sworn in as Chief Minister of the coastal state for the fourth time on Tuesday. The trust vote was ordered by the Supreme Court following a petition by the Congress which alleged that Goa Governor Mridula Sinha had played a partisan role in inviting the BJP to form a government although the Congress was the single largest party with 17 MLAs in the 40-member assembly.

    Manohar Parrikar quit as the defence minister of India, a post he had been holding since November 2014 after first reshuffle of Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Cabinet. At that time, he was serving his second term as the Chief Minister of Goa.

    The BJP, which won 13 seats in the 40-member Goa Assembly, managed to garner support from other parties and independents to attain majority under Parrikar. Three MLAs of the Goa Forward Party, three of the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) and two independents have pledged their support to Parrikar.

  • 12:53 PM IST

    Congress MLA Vishwajeet Rane walked out from the Goa Assembly during the floor test. Manohar Parrikar led the BJP coalition received 22 MLAs, while the Congress got support of 16 legislators.

  • 12:46 PM IST

    “Everyone voluntarily came and voted, none of them were kept in a hotel room or secluded common place as was the case of opposition,” said Manohar Parrikar on horse trading charge.

  • 12:45 PM IST

  • 12:45 PM IST

  • 12:45 PM IST

    After proving majority on floor, Manohar Parrikar said Congress leader Digvijaya Singh’s claims that they have numbers, debunked. “Right from the beginning they didnt have numbers,” said Parrikar.

  • 12:42 PM IST

    Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar on Thursday won the trust vote in the Goa assembly, with 22 MLAs supporting his government. The Congress got the support of 16 legislators. “We have proved before the people of India. We had support of 23 including the Speaker and we proved it on the floor of house,” said Parrikar after winning trust vote.

  • 12:40 PM IST

  • 12:34 PM IST

  • 12:32 PM IST

    LIVE – Goa Floor Test: 22 MLAs supported Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar led the BJP coalition, while 16 opposed him. One legislator was absent during the Goa floor test.

Panaji, March 16: Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar is set to prove majority on the floor of the Assembly on Thursday at 11 am. Parrikar had stepped down as Defence Minister and was sworn-in as the Chief Minister of Goa along with nine ministers on Tuesday. At present, he is enjoying the support of 22 MLAs, two more than the halfway mark of 20 in the 40-member Assembly.

The Congress on Monday had moved to the Supreme Court while challenging Governor Mridula Sinha‘s decision to appoint Manohar Parrikar as the chief minister of the state. However, the apex court turned down the appeal of the Congress to stay the swearing-in of Parrikar and ordered a floor test in the Goa Assembly instead.  A bench headed by Chief Justice J S Khehar ruled out that the Goa Assembly session to be called at 11 AM on March 16, adding that the only business of the house would be the holding of floor test after swearing-in of the members.

Tables turned for the Congress when despite emerging as the single largest party in the Goa Assembly elections 2017, it was unable to form the government in the state as the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) along with the support of Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP), Goa Forward and independent MLAs formed the government in the state.

Former Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar took over as the Chief Minister of Goa on March 14.

Earlier, the Congress has alleged that the BJP had paid ‘Casino Money to win over MLAs’ in the Goa Assembly. “More than Rs 1,000 crore they have used. Including the money from casinos. Because casino people were very much there in the Raj Bhavan for the last two days,” All India Congress Committee secretary Girish Chodonkar stated while addressing the media.

As the Congress accused the BJP of using money power to come to power in Goa, the saffron party termed all the allegations as baseless. Welcoming Supreme Court’s decision, the Goa BJP unit General Secretary Sadanand Tanawade said that the party is confident of forming a government under Manohar Parrikar.

Meanwhile, Shiv Sena called the formation of the BJP government in Goa as ‘murder of democracy’. An editorial in Saamna stated “The ploy that was played in Goa can’t be termed anything but murder of democracy… We wish our democracy the strength to handle such happenings.”

In the Goa Assembly elections 2017, the Congress emerged as the single largest party winning 18 seats out of the total 40. To form the government in the state, a party needs 21 MLAs in its support. The BJP was able to form the government in Goa with the support of three MLAs each of Goa Forward Party and MGP and the backing of three independent MLAs. The saffron party had won 13 seats in the recently concluded Goa Assembly elections 2017 and with the support the total tally counts to 22.