New Delhi, August 15: On 71st Independence Day, the government on Tuesday launched an online portal dedicated to the gallantry award winners, bestowed since Independence. The website gives details of the Chakra Series awardees i.e., Param Vir Chakra, Maha Vir Chakra, Vir Chakra, Ashok Chakra, Kirti Chakra and Shaurya Chakra.

“In remembrance of our heroes who have been awarded gallantry awards since Independence, launched the site. The portal will preserve and tell the stories of our bravest men and women, civilians as well as armed forces personnel. If you have any information/photo that is missing and can be added to the portal, please share it through the feedback link on the site,” Modi tweeted.

The portal contains information such as name, unit, year, citations and photographs of awardees till date.

It is being jointly developed by the Union Home and Defence Ministries, BSF Director General KK Sharma said, adding that the aim of launching such a web portal is to honour the contribution of the gallant men and women and also make the common man aware about them.

About the awards:

On January 26, 1950, the government instituted three gallantry awards — the Param Vir Chakra, the Maha Vir Chakra and the Vir Chakra — which were deemed to have effect from August 15, 1947.

Thereafter, other three gallantry awards — the Ashoka Chakra Class-I, the Ashoka Chakra Class-II and the Ashoka Chakra Class-III — were instituted by the government on January 4, 1952, which were deemed to have effect from August 15, 1947. These awards were renamed as the Ashoka Chakra, the Kirti Chakra and the Shaurya Chakra respectively in January, 1967.

These gallantry awards are announced twice in a year – first on the occasion of the Republic Day and then on the occasion of the Independence Day.

Order of precedence of these awards is the Param Vir Chakra, the Ashoka Chakra, the Mahavir Chakra, the Kirti Chakra, the Vir Chakra and the Shaurya Chakra.