New Delhi: The Congress on Wednesday trained guns on the Centre in the wake of the passing of the triple talaq bill in Rajya Sabha a day ago. (Also read: ‘Parties Who Walked Out to Blame For Passage of Triple Talaq Bill,’ Says AIMPLB Member Firangi Mahali)Also Read - No Outsiders Were in Parliament: Centre Seeks Apology From Opposition For Creating Ruckus in Rajya Sabha

Senior Congress leader Ghulam Nabi Azad reiterated the Opposition’s charge that the Centre has taken to bulldozing Parliament to see bills through without sending any to the Select Committee. Also Read - Spent a Sleepless Night: Venkaiah Naidu Breaks Down in Rajya Sabha Over Ruckus by Oppn in House

Addressing the Chair, Azad said, “The Government had approached us asking ‘which bills you would like to send to Select Committee?’ They gave us a list of 23 Bills. We wanted at least half of them to be sent. They said, ‘as few as you can’. So the Opposition identified six bills as A category and two in B category.” Also Read - Rajya Sabha Congratulates PV Sindhu For Winning Olympic Medal

Speaking specifically about the bills passed recently, he said, “The bill yesterday (Muslim Women Protection of Rights on Marriage Bill, 2019) and bill listed at number 2 today (Unlawful Activities Prevention Amendment Bill) were listed to go to Select Committee. Yesterday’s bill was listed at night and we were given to understand they haven’t considered it.”

“My submission is that on one side you seek list from Opposition – bills to be sent to Select Committee – but you don’t come back to us, and you get it passed. You tell your people to be present and we remain under the illusion that the bill is going to the Select Committee. This is not done.”

Only last week, as many as 17 Opposition parties had written to Rajya Sabha Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu on how bills were being passed “without any scrutiny in Parliament”.

In their letter, they said the process of passing bills in a “hurried” way was a diversion from the practice. The letter has been signed by Opposition parties like Congress, Samajwadi Party, Bahujan Samaj Party, Trinamool Congress, Rashtriya Janata Dal, Telugu Desam Party, CPI, and CPI(M).