Live Updates

  • 8:48 PM IST

    Gujarat Assembly Election Results 2017: Registering its sixth consecutive win, BJP bagged 99 seats while the Congress, led by Rahul Gandhi, finished second with 77, 16 more than what it bagged five years ago. Congress’ ally Bhartiya Tribal Party won two seats and Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) one. Three seats went to independent candidates.

  • 6:58 PM IST
    Gujarat Assembly Elections Results Live Updates: The ruling BJP is set to retain power in Gujarat, just edging past the half-way mark in one of the most bitterly contested elections that saw the Congress improve its tally compared to five years ago. Election Commission officials said the Bharatiya Janata Party, on course for its sixth consecutive win, had bagged 95 seats and was leading in 4 while the Congress had won 75 and was forging ahead in 2 more.
  • 4:30 PM IST

  • 3:34 PM IST

  • 3:34 PM IST

  • 3:26 PM IST

    Gujarat Assembly Elections Results Live Updates: The BJP has bagged 44 seats and is leading in 54 others. Congress won 36 seats and is ahead in 42 constituencies.

  • 2:53 PM IST

    Gujarat Assembly Elections Results Live Updates: The ruling BJP is set to retain power in Gujarat, with its candidates are leading 98 of the 182 seats. The Congress again settled for the second place but with an improved showing. The grand old party is ahead in 78 constituencies.

  • 1:16 PM IST

  • 1:15 PM IST

  • 1:13 PM IST

Ahmedabad, Dec 18: For Gujarat Assembly Elections Results 2017, the counting of votes will begin today at 8 am. The result of Gujarat Assembly polls is considered as a trendsetter ahead of the 2019 Lok Sabha election. The Assembly election in Gujarat, the home turf of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, is a battle of prestige for the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). Rahul Gandhi, who led Congress campaign from the front, left no stone unturned to defeat the saffron party in its bastion. We will be giving live updates on Gujarat Assembly elections 2017 results. Stay connected with us to get instant live news updates on the elections results of Gujarat Assembly polls.

The Gujarat Assembly elections results will decide the fate of 1828 candidates. Polling for the Gujarat Assembly elections was held in two phases on December 9 and 14. While the BJP contested all 182 Assembly seats of Gujarat, the Congress fielded candidates in 176 constituencies. The grand old party left five seats for its ally Bharatiya Tribal Party and extended support to Dalit activist Jignesh Mevani who is contesting as an independent candidate from Vadgam. The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) nominated its candidates for 34 seats.

The Gujarat Assembly elections saw a high-octane electoral tussle between the ruling BJP and Congress. The polls also saw a sustained social media campaign from the two major parties in the fray. While PM Narendra Modi alleged Pakistan links of some Congress leaders and accused Rahul Gandhi and Congress of stalling development projects of Gujarat when the UPA was in power at the Centre. On the other hand, the Gandhi scion consistently challenged the Gujarat model and questioned ‘lack of progress’ in various sectors of the state. A lot of personal comments were also made by leaders of both the parties against rivals.

The Gujarat Assembly elections results will also show the impact of Patidar reservation stir, led by Hardik Patel, against the BJP government in the state. How much Congress is benefited from the induction of OBS leader Alpesh Thakore will also be decided by the Gujarat polls outcome. All exit polls have predicted a comfortable win for the BJP in Gujarat election.

In 2012 Gujarat Assembly Elections, out of 182 seats, Congress won 57 whereas BJP registered the victory on 119 seats. However, the grand old party was left with 43 MLAs after over dozen of them defected. Catch the live updates on Gujarat Assembly elections 2017 results above.