Ahmedabad, Feb 19: The results of Gujarat Civic Elections 2018 have been declared. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has yet again won in the Gujarat Municipality or Nagar Palika Election 2018 while the Congress party has doubled its tally from the last civic polls. Also Read - Connecting India: PM Modi Flags Off 8 Trains to Statue of Unity | Check Full List, Routes And Timings Here

Gujarat Civic Election Results: As it happened Also Read - Maharashtra Man Kills Girlfriend to Avoid Marrying Her, Hides Body in Walls of Flat

In the Gujarat Nagar Palika Elections 2018, the Amit Shah-led party has bagged 44 Municipalities or Nagar Palika and the Congress party managed to get 13 municipalities. Seat-wise, the BJP has managed to get a total of 1177 seats while the Congress party has won 621 seats in 75 Gujarat Municipalities. Voting in 75 municipalities was held on February 17. The polling to the 74 Gujarat municipalities or Nagar Palika was held through Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs). Also Read - Coronavirus: Gujarat Extends Night Curfew in 4 Cities For 15 Days More, No Relaxation For Now

The 74 municipalities or Nagar Palikas include Ahmedabad’s Babulas, Dhandhuka, Sanand, Amreli’s Jafrabad, Rajula, Chalaya, Lathi, Anand’s Karamsad, Vallabh Vidya Nagar, Ankalav, Borivali, Ode, Bhachau of Kutch, Rapar, Kheda Chaklasi, Mahmadabad, Dakor, Kheda, Mahudha, Mansa of Gandhinagar, Dhanrol of Jamnagar, Jamjodpur, Kalavad, Gir Somnath Kodinar, and others.

The BJP had won 60 of these Nagar Palikas in 2013 election. However, the Congress, which gave an impressive performance in recently concluded Gujarat Assembly election winning 77 seats, gave a tough fight to the BJP this time and managed to double its tally. In order to make inroads in BJP’s stronghold – the urban areas – the Congress contested municipality election on party symbol. Despite Congress’s surge, the BJP kept its dominance in urban areas.

In the recently held Gujarat Assembly Elections, BJP had retained power by bagging 99 seats while opposition Congress won 77 seats. The BJP had performed well in urban and semi-urban areas while Congress was ahead in rural areas. In municipality election, the Congress managed to gain some hold in urban areas as well.