Ahmedabad, Feb 19: The result of Gujarat civic election 2018 will be declared today. Counting of votes for Gujarat Municipality or Nagar Palika and Gram Panchayat elections will begin at 8 am. The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is eyeing for another win after its victory in Gujarat Assembly elections held last year. However, the Congress is also leaving no stone unturned to reach out to the urban population of the state. Catch live updates on Gujarat local election result here Also Read - BJP, TMC Lock Horns Over Jai Shri Ram Chants as Mamata Refuses to Address Netaji Event in Kolkata | Key Points

Polling for 74 municipalities or Nagar Palikas was held on February 17 with Dahod recording the highest turnout of 76.67 percent while Rajkot had recorded the lowest turnout of 50.17 percent. Voting was held in 1988 seats spread across 522 wards. Also Read - MP Police Detains Digvijaya Singh, Uses Water Canons to Disperse Congress Workers Protesting Against Farm Laws | Watch

The current term of these poll-bound municipalities ends on February 23. Polling was also conducted for two district panchayats, 17 taluka panchayats and 1,400 village panchayats. Gujarat State Election Commission(SEC) Varesh Sinha had announced the local body poll schedule on January 23. Also Read - Rift in BJP Ahead of Bengal Elections 2021, Workers Clash at Party Offices, Torch Vehicles