Top Recommended Stories

Guwahati Municipal Election Result Highlights: BJP+ Bags 58 Wards Out of 60; PM Modi Thanks Voters For ‘Resounding Mandate’

Guwahati Municipal Corporation (GMC) Election Results 2022 LIVE: Welcome to’s Guwahati Municipal Corporation Election Results blog, readers.  This blog has updates, winners list, leading/trailing candidates as well reports from Zee News reporters who are fanned out across Assam. 

Updated: April 24, 2022 4:28 PM IST

By News Desk | Edited by Surabhi Shaurya

Bypoll Results 2022
Bypoll Results 2022: The counting of votes will begin at 8 AM amid tight security arrangements in 7 assembly constituencies.

Guwahati Municipal Corporation (GMC) Election Results 2022 LIVE: The Bharatiya Janata Party and its alliance have registered a landslide victory in the Guwahati Municipal Corporation (GMC) Election 2022. The counting of votes for the GMC elections, which were held after a gap of nine years, began at 8 AM on Sunday. Of the total 60 wards, BJP candidates have been elected uncontested in three wards. Political parties have gone all out to woo the voters, promising a flood-free and crime-free city with piped water to all households and all other basic civic amenities. Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma led the BJP’s election campaign, addressing multiple rallies across the city, while the saffron party’s coalition partner at Dispur, Asom Gana Parishad’s (AGP), the campaign was helmed by Agriculture Minister and party president Atul Bora. Assam Pradesh Congress Committee chief Bhupen Borah led the state’s main Opposition party on its campaign trail.

Guwahati Municipal Corporation (GMC) Election Results 2022: As it happened

You may like to read

15:00 PM: Of the total 60 wards, BJP+ has secured victory in 58 seats. Congress-0, Others-2.

14:55 PM: Prime Minister Narendra Modi thanks the people of Guwahati for having “given a resounding mandate to BJP Assam to build on the agenda of development,” as the trend shows BJP victory in the Guwahati Municipal Corporation polls.

14:45 PM: As #GMCElections counting goes on, @BJP4Assam & allies are comfortably leading in 58 wards. Others lead in 2 wards while the Congress stands at 0. I thank the people of Guwahati for their unwavering support! tweeted CM Himanta Biswa Sarma.

 14:25 PM: Out of 57 wards, BJP wins 43 wards while its ally AGP wins 5 wards. AAP and AJP have won 1 ward each so far.

14:00 PM: “The BJP has won in 28 wards so far, while its ally party AGP has won in four, and AAP and Assam Jatiya Parishad (AJP) have won one each,” said an official.

13:30 PM: BJP wins 28 wards, Asom Ghana Parishan (AGP) won 4 wards of the total 57 wards in GMC.

13:05 PM: Out of 57 wards, BJP wins 18 wards while its ally AGP win 2 wards. AAP and AJP win 1 ward each.

12:12 PM: BJP wins 11 wards while its ally AGP wins 2. AAP and Assam Jatiya Parishad (AJP) win 1 ward each, said Kamrup (Metro) District administration

12:02 PM: The Bharatiya Janata Party is leading in 22 wards, win 5 seats out of 57 as announced earlier.

11:03 AM: BJP leading in 16 wards, AAP -01. The counting of votes underway.

10:51 AM: Results declared for 6 wards out of 57 wards- BJP wins 5 wards (Ward No 11, 21, 31, 41, 51) and Assam Jatiya Parishad (AJP) wins 1 ward (Ward No 1): Pallav Gopal Jha, Deputy Commissioner of Kamrup (Metro) District.

10:00 AM: Of the total 57 wards, BJP leading in 10  — 4, 6, 11, 21, 22, 23, 31, 32, 41 and 51.

08:37 AM: The AAP’s Delhi MLA Atishi, who undertook a hectic campaign for the party, and its Assam state coordinator Baren Chowdhury said that the party would form the board by winning a majority of the seats.

08:36 AM: Counting of votes for GMC Elections underway

08:00 AM: The Congress, which was in fray in 54 wards, in its manifesto, had promised drinking water to all households within 100 days, setting up of 100 vending zones for small businesses within 30 days, installing functional street lights and making the city flood and pollution-free.

For breaking news and live news updates, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram. Read more on Latest India News on

By clicking “Accept All Cookies”, you agree to the storing of cookies on your device to enhance site navigation, analyze site usage, and assist in our marketing efforts Cookies Policy.