Bengaluru, May 23: Janata Dal (Secular) leader H D Kumaraswamy on Wednesday took oath as Chief Minister of Karnataka for the second time. Governor Vajubhai Vala administered the oath of office to Kumaraswamy at 4.30 p.m. on the grand steps of the state Secretariat. Kumaraswamy will lead the JD(S)-Congress coalition government in the state. Congress’s state chief G Parameshwara also sworn-in as Deputy Chief Minister. Both the leaders took oath in Kannada in the name of god, farmers and the people of the southern state. Also Read - Extend Karnataka Lockdown by 2 Weeks as State Yet to Reach Peak in Coronavirus Cases, Recommends Expert

A galaxy of national and regional leaders and Chief Ministers of some non-BJP states from across the country were present on the occasion. Among the prominent political leaders present on the huge dais were UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi, Congress president Rahul Gandhi, BSP supremo Mayawati, NCP chief Sharad Pawar, Samajwadi Party president Akhilesh Yadav, expelled Janata Dal-United president Sharad Yadav and Communist Party of India-Marxist General Secretary Sitaram Yechury. Chief Ministers Mamata Banerjee (West Bengal), N. Chandrababu Naidu (Andhra Pradesh) and Pinarayi Vijayan (Kerala) were also present at the 10-minute swearing-in ceremony. Also Read - UK Variant Dominant in North India, Double Mutant in Maharashtra, Gujarat; COVID Spreads Tentacles in Southern States | Highlights

Though the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) emerged as the single largest party with 104 seats in Karnataka Assembly elections, the Congress and the JD(S) forged a post-poll alliance to keep the BJP at bay. The JD-S (36) and Congress (78) alliance has 117 members in the House. In the 224-member Assembly, which currently has 222 members, Kumaraswamy has 6 more than the required 111 halfway mark.

Karnataka governor Vajubhai Vala invited Kumaraswamy on Saturday to form the coalition government after the fall of the three-day BJP government as its Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa resigned before the trust vote as his party fell seven short of the 111-halfway mark majority in a hung house.