Live Updates

  • 8:07 PM IST

    Haryana Assembly Election 2019 Results LIVE Updates: “I would like to convey best wishes to Devendra ji and Manohar ji and want to thank the people again for this again. I hope that Diwali brings a new light and energey into your lives,” says PM.

  • 8:03 PM IST

  • 8:03 PM IST

    Haryana Assembly Election 2019 Results LIVE Updates: PM Modi thanks people for putting their faith in BJP and voting for it in Maharashtra and Haryana. “Both CMs were in their first term and for five years worked for people’s welfare, and hence people have shown their faith in BJP again,” says PM Modi.

  • 7:58 PM IST

  • 7:57 PM IST

    Haryana Assembly Election 2019 Results LIVE Updates: BJP national president and Home Minister Amit Shah addresses BJP workers at party headquarters in Delhi. “Our Haryana vote share increased by 3%, I thank people for this,” says Shah.

  • 7:50 PM IST

    Haryana Assembly Election 2019 Results LIVE Updates: BJP’s vote share in Haryana went up to 36 per cent from 33 per cent; it shows people’s endorsement of government’s work: PM

  • 7:47 PM IST

    I thank people of Haryana for blessing us. We will continue to work with same zeal and dedication for state’s progress: Modi.

  • 6:03 PM IST

  • 6:02 PM IST

    Haryana Assembly Election 2019: BJP national president and Union Home Minister Amit Shah, in a tweet, thanks the voters of Haryana for making it the single-largest party in the state.

  • 5:49 PM IST

    Haryana Assembly Election 2019 Results LIVE Updates: Reports state Haryana CM ML Khattar to meet Governor SN Arya later today and stake claim to form the government.

New Delhi: Counting for the Haryana Assembly election 2019, contested by 1,169 candidates was held on Thursday.  (Full coverage on Assembly elections 2019)

In a bid to avoid any untoward incident, tight security arrangements were made at various counting centers across the state. Besides, in the three-tier security system, the 1,12,328 used EVMs and VVPAT machines were kept under 24-hour CCTV surveillance. The entire counting process will be video recorded to maintain transparency.

The BJP and Congress were engaged in a neck-to-neck fight for most of the day; however, the BJP is currently the single-largest party but was unable to cross the majority mark.

On Monday, however, most of the exit polls predicted a clear majority for the Khattar-led BJP government in the state with more than 70 seats in 90-seat Assembly. The Times Now exit poll gave a clear signal to the BJP with 71 seats and Congress 11 seats. The Jan Ki Bat has also given the BJP 57, and Congress 17, with 16 for other parties. News 18-IPSOS predicted that the BJP will get 75 seats, Congress 10 and others will get only 5. As per ABP News-C Voter predicted BJP getting 72 seats, Congress 8 and others only 10.

But contrary to those exit polls, the India Today-Axis My India post-poll prediction on Tuesday showed that the BJP is likely to win 32-44 seats. In the last Assembly polls, the BJP had won 47 seats while the half-way mark in the Haryana Assembly is 45.

Congress, on the other hand, was projected to win 30-42 seats. In last election, Congress won just 15 seats in the state.

The state recorded 68.31 per cent turnout when it went to polls on October 21, Monday. Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar’s constituency Karnal had 52.29 per cent voting, while Congress two-time Chief Minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda’s Garhi Sampla Kiloi had 72.83 per cent voting.

Prominent faces who fought in the polls include Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar, former Chief Minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda, JJP’s Dushyant Chautala and INLD’s Abhay Singh Chautala.