Hisar: The counting for the municipal corporations of Karnal, Panipat, Yamunanagar, Rohtak, and Hisar and municipal committees of Jakhal Mandi in Fatehabad and Pundri in Kaithal will be held on Wednesday, December 19. The voting for these five municipal corporations and two municipal committees took place on December 16.Also Read - Haryana School Reopening Update: Classes To Resume For These Standards From September 20 | Details Here

At least 70 per cent people exercised their franchise in the Hisar Municipal Corporation and Committees Elections last Sunday, December 16. 89.5 per cent votes were recorded in Jakhal Mandi while 82 per cent was recorded in Pundri. The poll percentage, however, varied between 60 to 65 per cent in the five Municipal Corporations. Yamunanagar recorded the maximum number of votes. Also Read - Mysterious Fever Grips Haryana's Village; Over 8 Children Dead in Last 10 Days

The polling had been conducted in a peaceful manner said State Election Commissioner Dalip Singh. Singh said, “Polling remained 100 per cent peaceful. No untoward incident was reported from anywhere. There were no reports of any law and order issue or any incident pertaining to violation of Model Code of Conduct.” Also Read - Karnal Farmer Protest Ends After Week as Haryana Govt Agrees to Their Demands | Top Points

Of 14,01,454 electorate eligible to cast their votes using EVMs, 7,44,468 were men and 6,56,986 women. Polling was held for 136 wards for the seats of mayor and members of municipal corporations and municipal committees.

It must be noted that in this year’s municipal polls, the Haryana Election Commission had decided to treat ‘none of the above’ or NOTA option as a “fictional candidate” in the municipal polls, making it a must for winning candidates to secure more votes than those cast for NOTA.

As many as 1,292 polling stations had been set up, out of which 304 were sensitive and 166 hyper-sensitive. Haryana Director General of Police BS Sandhu had earlier said the entire police administration was fully geared up to conduct free, fair and peaceful elections. A total of 7,016 police personnel were deployed for polling duty.

This is the first time that elections are being held for the posts of mayors. 59 candidates which include 40 men and 19 women, contested the election for the seats of Mayor.

The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and opposition Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) had contested the elections on their respective party symbols. However, the Congress chose not to use the party symbol for candidates which have been backed by the party.