New Delhi: Eight Opposition members, including TMC leader Derek O’Brien were suspended for a week from the Rajya Sabha under Rule 256(2) over unprecedented unruly scenes during the passage of Farm Bills a day ago. Also Read - LJP's Chirag Paswan Promises to Stand With PM Modi And His Beliefs Until Last Breath

The Rajya Sabha had witnessed a massive ruckus on Sunday, after Opposition members stormed the well and reached the deputy chairman’s seat to protest against the farm Bills debated and passed by the Upper House through voice vote. Also Read - Bihar Assembly Election 2020: Migrants Walked Kms Without Food & Water, Did PM Help You Then, Asks Rahul | Highlights

Besides O’Brien, the other MPs who have been suspended from the House are –Dola Sen (TMC),  Sanjay Singh (AAP),  Rajeev Satav, Ripun Bora & Syed Nasir Hussain  (INC), KK Ragesh & Elamaram Karim (CPI-M). Also Read - BJP’s ‘Free Vaccine’ Promise For Bihar in Its Poll Manifesto Draws Opposition Fire | All You Need to Know

The motion to suspend the MPs was moved by V. Murlidharan, the MoS for Parliamentary Affairs.

Initially, the suspended parliamentarians refused to leave and shouted slogans, leading to three adjournment of the upper house within an hour.

Meanwhile, Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu also rejected a notice for no confidence motion against deputy chairman Harivansh on the grounds that proper procedure was not followed. Furthermore, he condemned the unruly behaviour and “threats” to Harivansh during the passage of the farm bills.

Terming the suspension of MPs as “unfortunate”, West Bengal Chief Minister and Trinamool Congress (TMC) Supremo Mamata Banerjee said that her party will fight against the “fascist” government in Parliament and on the streets.
“Suspension of the 8 MPs who fought to protect farmers interests is unfortunate & reflective of this autocratic Govt’s mindset that doesn’t respect democratic norms & principles. We won’t bow down & we’ll fight this fascist Govt in Parliament & on the streets. #BJPKilledDemocracy,” Banerjee tweeted.
Furthermore, the party accused the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) of murdering democracy by “ruthlessly silencing all the opposition leaders” in Rajya Sabha.